mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Z
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
Z
I've been scripting mIRC dialogs for a few months now, and have always used separate ON DIALOG events to control the dialog. Recently, I've noticed some people use one ON DIALOG event to control the entire dialog. For example, here's what some ON DIALOG events I use look like:

Code:
on *:dialog:dialog1:init:0: {
  commands
}
on *:dialog:dialog1:sclick:1: {
  commands
}

But I've seen some people use one event for multiple controls:
Code:
on *:dialog:dialog1:*:*: {
  if ($devent == init) {
    commands
  }
  if ($devent == sclick) {
    if ($did == 1) {
      commands
    }
  }
}

Is the this method more efficient? Or is it just a better way to organize your scripts with less events? What method would work best?

L
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
L
Originally Posted By: zaqwsxcde
I've been scripting mIRC dialogs for a few months now, and have always used separate ON DIALOG events to control the dialog. Recently, I've noticed some people use one ON DIALOG event to control the entire dialog. For example, here's what some ON DIALOG events I use look like:

Code:
on *:dialog:dialog1:init:0: {
  commands
}
on *:dialog:dialog1:sclick:1: {
  commands
}

But I've seen some people use one event for multiple controls:
Code:
on *:dialog:dialog1:*:*: {
  if ($devent == init) {
    commands
  }
  if ($devent == sclick) {
    if ($did == 1) {
      commands
    }
  }
}

Is the this method more efficient? Or is it just a better way to organize your scripts with less events? What method would work best?

Less confusing for large dialogs, first method. For cleanliness the second. Either or it performs both the same way.

Code:
if $reality > $fiction { set %sanity Sane }
Else { echo -a *voices* }
Z
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
Z