mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18539 08/04/03 08:49 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
H
Hoyt Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
H
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
i keep getting this gay error thing that says

* Break: command halted

also my Right click button doesnt work in channels, and nor does the Commands Tab Why why why why plz help im not new to irc and i cant figure this 1 out.. do i have a trojan virus? confused

Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18540 08/04/03 08:54 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
did u run a virus scan?? that may answer ur question simply or rule out something ........ next what version of mirc ar u using and what scripts have u installed that have any effect on a rclick?

as for the gay error ....... well dunno nothing about them errors my scripts only have normal errors ..... what function are u tryin to run and what command is it thats getting halted ...... only way to fix it is to know what it is?


D3m0nnet.com
Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18541 08/04/03 09:01 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
H
Hoyt Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
H
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
ya i ran a virus scan with newest norton updates.. im going to do the online virus scan right now.. i deleted mirc scripts and every single thing having to do w/ mirc.. i am running 6.03 or the newest version... i cant pm people i cant whois people i cant right click i cant do [censored] basically... confused

any ideas? virus?

Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18542 08/04/03 09:25 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 843
P
Poppy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 843
Try a clean install of mIRC, and download it from the official source, obviously. smile


Never compare yourself to others - they're more screwed up than you think.
Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18543 08/04/03 09:50 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
ok what particular network are u tryin to do this on and are u an AOL user??? cause the network im on they have a setting so that an AOL user cannot been seen or issue any commands that work until they /quote identify password nickname ...... this may not be ur trouble but possibly an idea?


D3m0nnet.com
Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18544 08/04/03 10:10 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
H
Hoyt Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
H
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
i did a clean install.. and i did download it f/ the offical source...

next?

Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18545 08/04/03 10:12 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
H
Hoyt Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
H
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
i am trying to connect to irc.gamesnet.net
i have cable connection... aol sucks wink

i got just back and i had An online virus scan running while iw as gone-- it found nothing nor did my Norton Anti-virus..
so i dunno still need help confused

Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18546 08/04/03 10:16 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
someone shun u?


D3m0nnet.com
Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18547 08/04/03 10:23 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
H
Hoyt Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
H
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
shun?

Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18548 08/04/03 10:43 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
yeah did ya get introuble?? its possible to issue a shun on a user and they type and it does absolutely nothing ..... now if ur running a base mirc and ur still getting this halt error um then there is definatly a problem use a completely clean mirc downloaded from this site and tell me if ur still getting that error


D3m0nnet.com
Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18549 08/04/03 10:52 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
H
Hoyt Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
H
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
nope i havent been g-lined/k-lined or anything no trouble.. just started happening last night... i have downloaded the basic 6.03 and installed it into a diff. directory after removing the old 1 yet it still messes up.. so i dunno--- thanks for your replys ---keep em coming ;-\ confused

Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18550 09/04/03 08:14 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,237
T
The_Game Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,237
Could the problem lie within the channel popup themselves? Maybe check the editor and go over what you can do or supposed to do when you right click... I'm just suggesting this cause maybe there is an error or something that you or someone else may have caused...I'm not saying that this is the problem or anything just throwin another possibility your way...

Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18551 09/04/03 05:44 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
L
landonsandor Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
This has been discussed MANY times before on the old board. When it happened to me, it wasnt due to any network at all or a virus. mIRC just stopped working my scripts. A week later it started again. Since there's been NO WAY to reproduce this, we really havent found a reason WHY it's happenening nor what to do to fix it. The FIRST time I ever saw it happen was with 6.x on my win95 machine. It hasnt happened since, but no clue why it happened in the first place.


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18552 09/04/03 08:04 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
H
Hoyt Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
H
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
You are right landonsandor -- my irc works fine all of the sudden--i get home turn it on-- it works fine go figure smirk
Now i know to just be patient next time this crap happens smile
thanks everyone for your input.. Lesson learned on my part

Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18553 10/04/03 09:42 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
L
landonsandor Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
I just wish we could figure out WHY it happens. It's CLEARLY not a virus at work since many people have reported this before AND run virus scans of all kinds (Macafee, Norton, Online scanners, specific trojan scanners) and came up empty I think we should stop looking for viruses where there clearly arent any. To my best memory (correct me if Im wrong) we NEVER found a mirc do this while a virus was present. Im NOT saying Khaled codes like crap (for those who want to think Im saying it), all Im saying is that under very specific circumstances, this happens and we havent a clue what those circumstances are


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18554 11/04/03 08:25 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
agreed, altho I do recall there was some trojan/virus/nasty that really mucked up mirc.ini a couple years ago. In any case, never hurts to run a virus scan. Random sporadic things that refuse to follow a pattern so they can be tracked down are more than a bit annoying. In my case, most oddities that pop up anywhere are usually due to win98se builtin memory leak <grumble>


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: help me plz * Break: command halted ? #18555 11/04/03 07:45 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
L
landonsandor Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
yeah, it is good to run scanners when something COMPLETELY unexpected happens on your PC. Cant hurt to be thorough smile Well, Id agree about the memory leak issue if it was only on 98, this was on all different platforms including 95b (my os). The thing I dont get is that it started (for me) on a mirc startup and ended on a mirc startup a week later. I didnt change a thing on my scripts but it just started working again; was VERY annoying


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it