mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
D
DJ_Sol Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Hi! Im a noob with using sockets to connect to IRC.

I have decided to try connecting to my IRC network by opening a socket. I open the socket, connect and auth myself fine.

I decided to open a socket for each room I join. I join the room and can read all room events through the sockread, my only problem so far is that a mIRC channel window does not open.

What am I missing?

The code I am using is very basic. Simply opening the socket, auth on sockopen. Then I manually join the room right now.

B
Fjord artisan
Fjord artisan
B
If you are connecting using a /socket, then why on earth would mIRC create a channel window?

Now, as for creating a socket for each room you join, I take it you're creating many *MANY* clones of yourself on your network (bad, and won't get any help with here).

You could create a channel-like @window with a side listbox, but you'd have to populate it and manage it yourself.

D
DJ_Sol Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
D
"Now, as for creating a socket for each room you join, I take it you're creating many *MANY* clones of yourself on your network (bad, and won't get any help with here)."

No, just having a dedicated socket to each room joined.

"You could create a channel-like @window with a side listbox, but you'd have to populate it and manage it yourself."

Yeah, I thought about doing this but I know I don't have to and it would ridiculous to do this really.

B
Fjord artisan
Fjord artisan
B
Originally Posted By: DJ_Sol
No, just having a dedicated socket to each room joined.

Err, huh?

If you have a dedicated /socket for each channel you open, you'll have a different nick for each channel from the same host, which is called cloning.

And as far as I'm aware, the only way to get mIRC to create a channel window is to have mIRC connect to that socket via the /server commands (and connect dialogs).