mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#178033 04/06/07 05:43 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
E
Elysium Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
E
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Whenever im opped in a channel and i right click on somebody's nick to op or voice them it wont work. I try to type /voice [nick] and /op [nick] but it wont work. The only way I can voice or op someone is to type out the whole thing. Ive had others try on mIRC and its worked for them, so i know its possible..

Can any help me out?

Elysium #178042 04/06/07 08:27 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 196
C
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
C
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 196
Hi as you dont say what network/ircd/services type this is for it a bit difficult to give you the right commands. So with that in mind may I suggest you visit the networks help channel for a solution to your problem.
Good luck


Happy mIRC user on Linux
Elysium #178049 04/06/07 08:56 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
you can also type this: //echo -a $usermode

then paste it here, many networks have +r as restricted, that means you cant op/voice/kick anyone.. to solve that you can try a diffrent server connected to the same network.. /links would show you server you can try connect to, how ever /linsk can be disabled on some networks, look in your status, often a text tell you if it's disabled.. and when you do /linsk, add the isometric code for your country, as exampel: /links *.uk would show all linked server from united kingdom, and /links *.se would show all servers from sweden.


if ($me != tired) { return } | else { echo -a Get a pot of coffee now $+($me,.) }
sparta #178064 04/06/07 09:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
E
Elysium Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
E
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Im on Epsernet. Whenever I use anything but mIRC it lets me do what i want.

So i believe its something to do with the program itself or my settings.

Last edited by Elysium; 04/06/07 11:53 PM.
Elysium #178078 05/06/07 12:33 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Do you have an alias file loaded? Alt-R > Aliases tab. If you don't have one loaded that has commands for /voice and /op, then you aren't going to be able to do that.

Just create a new file in the aliases tab with the following:

Code:
voice { if ($chan) { mode $chan +v $1- } }
op { if ($chan) { mode $chan +o $1- } }


That doesn't make sure you selected valid nicks, but as long as you choose valid nicks, it should work fine.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Riamus2 #178080 05/06/07 12:47 AM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
E
Elysium Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
E
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Awesome, that works for when I type it in. Do you know why i cant right click on nick > control > op/deop/voice/devoice?


Now that i look at it more, i cant use anything in the right click menus.

Elysium #178088 05/06/07 01:35 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Without knowing what you have for scripts loaded, I can't really say. If you download and install a copy of mIRC from this site, you should have all the appropriate (default) scripts/popups, including one alias script and also popups.ini, which will have all of your right click stuff. It sounds like you just copied mIRC.exe into a blank folder and used it like that without having the rest of the files.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Riamus2 #178091 05/06/07 02:04 AM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
E
Elysium Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
E
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
I did copy it at one time. Ive tried reinstalling it a couple of times but it always does the same thing.

Elysium #178094 05/06/07 06:44 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
if you look ether in your popups or remote "search for menu nicklist", then paste some of the code here, just the part where you see the op commands are, then maybe we can spot some errors smile


if ($me != tired) { return } | else { echo -a Get a pot of coffee now $+($me,.) }
sparta #178128 05/06/07 03:18 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
E
Elysium Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
E
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Heres whats in popups under nicklist.
Code:
Info:/uwho $1
Whois:/whois $$1
Query:/query $$1
-
Control
.Ignore:/ignore $$1 1
.Unignore:/ignore -r $$1 1
.Op:/mode # +ooo $$1 $2 $3
.Deop:/mode # -ooo $$1 $2 $3
.Voice:/mode # +vvv $$1 $2 $3
.Devoice:/mode # -vvv $$1 $2 $3
.Kick:/kick # $$1
.Kick (why):/kick # $$1 $$?="Reason:"
.Ban:/ban $$1 2
.Ban, Kick:/ban $$1 2 | /timer 1 3 /kick # $$1
.Ban, Kick (why):/ban $$1 2 | /timer 1 3 /kick # $$1 $$?="Reason:"
CTCP
.Ping:/ctcp $$1 ping
.Time:/ctcp $$1 time
.Version:/ctcp $$1 version
DCC
.Send:/dcc send $$1
.Chat:/dcc chat $$1
-
Slap!:/me slaps $$1 around a bit with a large trout

This is whats under menu bar(dont know if you need to know it.
Code:
Commands
Join channel:/join #$$?="Enter channel name:"
Part channel:/part #$$?="Enter channel name:"
Query user:/query $$?="Enter nickname and message:"
Send notice:/notice $$?="Enter nickname and message:"
Whois user:/whois $$?="Enter nickname:"
Send CTCP
.Ping:/ctcp $$?="Enter nickname:" ping
.Time:/ctcp $$?="Enter nickname:" time
.Version:/ctcp $$?="Enter nickname:" version
Set Away
.On:/away $$?="Enter away message:"
.Off:/away
Invite user:/invite $$?="Enter nickname and channel:"
Ban user:/ban $$?="Enter channel and nickname:"
Kick user:/kick $$?="Enter channel and nickname:" 
Ignore user:/ignore $$?="Enter nickname:"
Unignore user:/ignore -r $$?="Enter nickname:"
Change nick:/nick $$?="Enter new nickname:"
Quit IRC:/quit



Thanks for all the help, I appreciate it. smile




Elysium #178129 05/06/07 03:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
That looks right, your popups should be working then.. crazy

SladeKraven #178130 05/06/07 03:24 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
E
Elysium Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
E
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
cry The only thing i can get to popup is info, nothing else. I cant even slap anyone frown.

Elysium #178141 05/06/07 07:21 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
E
Elysium Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
E
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Could it possibly be something in my settings?

Elysium #178234 07/06/07 09:39 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
try a clean installation of mIRC, downloaded from this website, without any addons to see if you still have this problem. if not, it was some kind of script or setting which caused the problem.


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
Doqnach #178253 07/06/07 02:26 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
E
Elysium Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
E
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Ive done that a few times. I cleared my hard drive of all files containing "mirc". Then installed it from the site. Still doesnt work.


Link Copied to Clipboard