mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
T
Taragon Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
T
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Hello,

First, I hope this would be ok to ask, being this my first post here. (have done google and the search function above :))

As the subject title says I'm having difficulties connecting to multiple servers on perform.

In the 'mIRC Options - Connect - Servers' I have a bouncer connecting to irc.quakenet.org, and after that connecting to a channel.

Now I would also like to connect to a channel at irc.enterthegame.com, but without using the command line.

I thought it would be
Code:
/server -m 83.98.146.141:33309 (my bouncer)
/join #die16
/server -m irc.enterthegame.com
/join #beyondunreal


having 'Enable perform on connect' checked
and 'Networks:' 'All Networks'

I hope, might this be a noobish question perhaps, someone could assist me perhaps.

Best regards,

Taragon


Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
Try using the -j switch in the server command. smile

Code:
/server -m irc.enterthegame.com -j #beyondunreal

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
T
Taragon Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
T
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks!

Almost did it laugh

What happens it mIRC connects to my bouncer (which connects to quakenet.org)
After it connects to enterthegame.com, and enters the channel ie. #beyondunreal

The thing is, after this mIRC tries to enter enterthegame.com again, which shouldn't be the thing I believe

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
mIRC tries to connect to enterthegame.com a second time, because it doesn't recognize the connection through the bouncer.
As I don't use a bouncer, I've got no suggestions as to methods that might be used to avoid this problem (aside from the obvious one of not using the bouncer).

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
Are you, as your topic name implies, putting these commands in your Perform section? Bear in mind that, unless you specify otherwise, those commands will be executed each time you connect to *any* server. In your case this can result in connecting more times than intended.

A better solution is to paste a script (such as the following) into Remotes (Alt+R):
Code:
on *:START:{
  server 83.98.146.141 33309 password -j #die16
  server -m irc.enterthegame.com 6667 -j #beyondunreal
}

Remember to remove other /server commands from Perform if you do this.

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
server -m <- the -m opens a new status window for the new connection. and you can use $server, then see if you are connected to your bouncer..
if ($server != $null) && ($server == 83.98.146.141) { server -m next server }

how ever that code only works if you first connect to your bnc, then the next one.

but the -m switch arent needed for your first connection..

/server irc.server1.com
/server -m irc.server2.com


if ($me != tired) { return } | else { echo -a Get a pot of coffee now $+($me,.) }
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
It isn't necessary checking to see if the server isn't null because if the server is 83.98.146.141 then we know it's not null.


Link Copied to Clipboard