mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
vista #174738 12/04/07 01:28 AM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
2
2552 Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
2
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Im have vista on new computer, I cant mirc to work with IE,I can get it to work with firefox but have no clue where my files are being downloaded to ,I cant find them, when I click on open folder there is no file in the highlited folder can anyone help with this thanks

Re: vista [Re: 2552] #174739 12/04/07 01:51 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Please use the Search function and search for the term "Vista" (without the quotes). There have been a number of issues encountered with mIRC and Vista. I don't have Vista, but in XP, when downloading using Firefox, the files are downloaded to my desktop by default.

Re: vista [Re: 2552] #174743 12/04/07 04:07 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
mIRC downloads to whatever folder you have set up in the options. However, with Vista, you are limited on where you can save to, so if it's set to a location that is protected, you will probably get an error or else it just won't be saved at all. I don't have Vista (I refuse to use it), so I don't know what exactly you'd see, but those are the possible outcomes. As for browser issues (opening links in mIRC through a browser), that won't work in Vista until the next version of mIRC.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: vista [Re: Riamus2] #174793 12/04/07 10:41 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
2
2552 Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
2
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
I did the search and there is nothing there showing where downloads are going , and as far as picking a folder to where downloads go I did that but there not going there

Re: vista [Re: 2552] #174801 12/04/07 11:17 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
I don't see a connection between IE/Firefox and downloading in mIRC. How are you downloading things? Clicking an IRC link in a browser will not download anything. It will just open a channel on a network.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: vista [Re: Riamus2] #174815 13/04/07 12:40 AM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
2
2552 Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
2
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
click on mirc link them mirc open then copy and paste and download same as I have been for years with no problems till vista

Re: vista [Re: 2552] #174824 13/04/07 03:17 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Just click the DCC window and see where it's downloading to. Open that up in Windows Explorer and see if the file is there. If not, then it's probably a protected folder and you aren't really downloading anything. Go, Vista! crazy


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: vista [Re: 2552] #174847 13/04/07 01:56 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 259
K
Kardafol Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
K
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 259
Try changing your download folder to your desktop, or something similar. Thats my only advice, as that folder shouldn't be "protected" or whatever, since vista basically is 99% Digital Rights Management (DRM), 1% OS.


Those who can, cannot. Those who cannot, can.
Re: vista [Re: Kardafol] #174917 14/04/07 11:06 AM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
2
2552 Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
2
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
thanks changing the default download folder to desktop worked , but mirc still dont work with IE but I can live with that

Re: vista [Re: 2552] #174926 14/04/07 02:40 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
As it says multiple times in the forum, IRC links will not work in IE when using Vista until the next version of mIRC.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: vista [Re: Kardafol] #174929 14/04/07 02:55 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Quote:
Thats my only advice, as that folder shouldn't be "protected" or whatever, since vista basically is 99% Digital Rights Management (DRM), 1% OS.

Off-topic I know but protecting folders has nothing to do with DRM.

Protecting system-wide folders is fundamental security, and it's nothing new to Vista. The only difference with Vista from previous Windows versions is that the default user account created is no longer an administrator account which has access to these folders. This is a very good thing. It should be considered a practical security flaw in XP that the default account created was an administrator account because, as is evident from this and many other threads on this forum, people don't have a clue about security and even those that have a bit of an idea are often too lazy or arrogant to secure their OS by creating non-administrator user accounts for everyday use.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Re: vista [Re: starbucks_mafia] #174943 14/04/07 04:59 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 259
K
Kardafol Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
K
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 259
I have no problem running XP with an administrator account. You just have to pay attention, as most people will click on advertisements/attachments (email)/etc which is a bad thing. All vista is, is XP with some added security, loads of DRM, shiny new interface. $300 isn't worth a new OS when XP works fine.


Those who can, cannot. Those who cannot, can.
Re: vista [Re: Kardafol] #174945 14/04/07 06:43 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Quote:
I have no problem running XP with an administrator account. You just have to pay attention, as most people will click on advertisements/attachments (email)/etc which is a bad thing.

I suggest you look up "drive-by download". Attention and common sense are always vital for security, but they don't stand a chance against malware exploiting software bugs that don't require user interaction.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Re: vista [Re: starbucks_mafia] #174947 14/04/07 07:00 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 259
K
Kardafol Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
K
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 259
I don't use Internet explorer, and I keep my software updated. I also don't go to sites I don't know. I also keep javascript disabled for sites I haven't been at before.


Those who can, cannot. Those who cannot, can.
Re: vista [Re: 2552] #174963 15/04/07 08:01 AM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
G
Gerrado Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
G
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
I have recently purchased a HP Pavillion DV9000 with Vist a pre-installed on it.
After numerous attempts at trying to duel boot it finally got it working to suprise that more or less every device had no driver.
Anyway I have been stuck with Vista and I am still adjusting to it.
I installed mIRC last night and wacked some content on for DL.
I woke up this morning and I cannot find anything I have DL.
Now I read further up about the save locations being protected and I also had this problem with another program where DL content wasn't saved.
I don't suppose anyone can help me locate the downloads. I of course will change it now it's just my ISP is capped and I got a bit carried away last night.
Anyone help

Re: vista [Re: Gerrado] #174964 15/04/07 08:13 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Not having Vista the best I can do is recommend you try the Search option (presuming it still exists)..I know that in XP, there's an option called "When was it modified" which you can use to narrow down a search range by date

Re: vista [Re: RusselB] #174968 15/04/07 08:33 AM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
G
Gerrado Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
G
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Cheers for that but i already tried it, I was wondering if it was some kinda of temp file, suppose I may just have to accept that they don't exist but it has actually modified the hard drive capacity to the file sizes and it's telling me I've done 6/7 gig last night.
But I can't find the 6/7 gigs worth of files.

Habitual Vista Hater!

Re: vista [Re: Gerrado] #174969 15/04/07 08:43 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Some programs, even back to Windows 3.1, allocated the total space required before the download was completed, but stored the downloaded file into a temporary location (in Windows 3.1 it was c:\windows\temp) under a temporary file name. The actual file wasn't placed into location with the proper name until the transfer was complete.

Re: vista [Re: 2552] #176115 03/05/07 05:25 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 1
G
Geno Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
G
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 1
i had trouble locating my files at first, too. the directory to look in would be c:\users\(username)\appdata\local\virtualstore\program files\mirc

took me awhile but i finally found it. hope this helps.