mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
autoenter #164836 17/11/06 05:06 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 307
N
nataliad Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
N
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 307
you type what you want to say in the editbot

mirc will detect that if you dont type anymore for 3 seconds, you should have finished typing, so it will autoclick enter to display your text

brilliant?
grin
cool

Re: autoenter #164837 17/11/06 05:08 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Uh... that would be annoying, imo.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: autoenter #164838 17/11/06 05:40 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
I agree with Riamus..there are times when I'm reviewing what I've typed before hitting enter, and if there's a fair bit, it can sometimes take me longer than 3 seconds, or if I'm in the middle of typing something and have to answer the door or the phone, well, it takes me nearly a minute to get to my door.

Re: autoenter #164839 17/11/06 02:34 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 612
B
billythekid Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 612
yeah that's the trouble with castles....

.... I have been saved from embarrassment a few times by re-reading what i've typed before hitting enter, and caused myself embarrassment by hitting enter too quick.

perhaps this idea would be good for some but like most ideas it would need to be switched so that us who don't require it can turn it off.

btk


billythekid
Re: autoenter #164840 17/11/06 04:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,016
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,016
IMO anything "auto" should be left to scripts. So perhaps
a better feature suggestion would be for the command(s)
and identifier(s) needed to script your suggested feature.

Re: autoenter #164841 17/11/06 05:10 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
Quote:
brilliant?


Judge for yourself

Code:
on *:ACTIVE:*: { AutoEnterCheck.Sets } 
on *:APPACTIVE:{ AutoEnterCheck.Sets }
alias -l AutoEnterCheck.Sets { 
  set -e %AutoEnterCheck.Counter  4
  set -e %AutoEnterCheck.Active   $active
  set -e %AutoEnterCheck.Editbox  $editbox($active).selstart $editbox($active).selend $editbox($active) 
  .timerAutoEnterCheck.Timer -i 0 1 AutoEnterCheck.Timer
}
alias AutoEnterCheck.Timer {
  if ( (!$appactive) || (%AutoEnterCheck.Active != $active) || (!%AutoEnterCheck.Editbox) || (%AutoEnterCheck.Editbox != $editbox($active).selstart $editbox($active).selend $editbox($active)) ) { AutoEnterCheck.Sets | return }
  set -e %AutoEnterCheck.Counter $calc(%AutoEnterCheck.Counter - 1) | if (!%AutoEnterCheck.Counter) { editbox -an $editbox($active) }
}


* i didnt overly test this for working in all setups etc, but seems to work ok on two networks, no mouse tracking activity was done so if u stop evecting the editbox, and dont change windows it goes off in around 3 to 4 seconds.

IMO Its a monster, i would never use something like this.

Re: autoenter [Re: DaveC] #174109 02/04/07 12:14 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 307
N
nataliad Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
N
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 307
okie but it doesnt work...