mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Topic Options
#171371 - 23/02/07 12:00 PM I can't start mIRC!
Thaumaturgist Offline
Bowl of petunias

Registered: 23/02/07
Posts: 2
I get this messege every time I try to start mIRC:
Windows cannot access the scecified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item.

Please, help! What is wrong?


Edited by Thaumaturgist (23/02/07 12:20 PM)

Top
#171373 - 23/02/07 12:24 PM Re: I can't start mIRC! [Re: Thaumaturgist]
Jigsy Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 18/11/04
Posts: 797
Loc: I live inside your computer. S...
Is the mIRC.exe in the folder location of the shortcut?
_________________________
This signature is currently out of order. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Top
#171374 - 23/02/07 12:28 PM Re: I can't start mIRC! [Re: Jigsy]
Thaumaturgist Offline
Bowl of petunias

Registered: 23/02/07
Posts: 2
Everything was the same as I left them yesterday. The only thing is that the mIRC exe icon is set to the default empy window icon.

Top
#171376 - 23/02/07 01:33 PM Re: I can't start mIRC! [Re: Thaumaturgist]
Jigsy Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 18/11/04
Posts: 797
Loc: I live inside your computer. S...
Might mean that mIRC.exe is no longer in the directory.
_________________________
This signature is currently out of order. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Top
#171381 - 23/02/07 02:34 PM Re: I can't start mIRC! [Re: Jigsy]
Riamus2 Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 13/10/04
Posts: 8327
Loc: NC, USA
Yeah. Most likely, your antivirus updated and decided that mIRC.exe was "bad" and removed it without telling you. laugh
_________________________
Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net

Top
#172090 - 05/03/07 10:55 AM Re: I can't start mIRC! [Re: Riamus2]
wulf Offline
Ameglian cow

Registered: 25/08/06
Posts: 23
HATE that.. i wish they'd fix those false positives smirk I've lost mirc.ini settings this way too >.<

Top
#172099 - 05/03/07 02:34 PM Re: I can't start mIRC! [Re: wulf]
Riamus2 Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 13/10/04
Posts: 8327
Loc: NC, USA
Just as a note, I've run mIRC for years and have never had McAfee give a false positive on it and remove it on me. It *did* complain about a script that I wrote to backup the trivia bot I have and send it to multiple ops on a regular basis in case of a computer crash, but I set that up so it was "safe" and never had another problem with it. As far as "official" mIRC files, McAfee has never given me an issue.

I know people like free ones like AVG or sometimes like Norton instead of McAfee, but AVG and Norton have both done false positives... so it's a matter of whether you want to deal with those or not. smile
_________________________
Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net

Top
#172100 - 05/03/07 03:09 PM Re: I can't start mIRC! [Re: Riamus2]
genius_at_work Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 08/10/05
Posts: 1741
I've never had a false positive with AVG free version on any of my computers.

-genius_at_work

Top
#172138 - 06/03/07 02:44 AM Re: I can't start mIRC! [Re: genius_at_work]
Riamus2 Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 13/10/04
Posts: 8327
Loc: NC, USA
Maybe I am wrong about AVG, then. I was sure I'd seen people complain about AVG detecting mIRC as a false positive. Perhaps it was people complaining about it detecting Invision as a false positive because of the DLL in it that I'm remembering instead.

I don't use AVG, so I am just going by what I have heard people saying. I've used McAfee for probably 10 years and have never had issues with them, so I have no desire to change to something else. That said, AVG is a great one if you want a free antivirus.
_________________________
Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net

Top