mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Couldn't look up your hostname #147351 17/04/06 01:20 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
W
WazntMe Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
W
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Recently I've upgraded my internet connection to include 5 static IP numbers. Reverse and Forward DNS lookups on the IP numbers are identical. Identd is turned on and answering properly. However, when connecting to ANY irc server I get the following:
[09:02] Local host: john.tenbucks.net (70.62.14.75)
-
[09:02] -irc.efnet.pl- *** Looking up your hostname...
-
* Identd request from 217.17.33.10
* Identd replied: 1059, 6667 : USERID : UNIX : WazntMe
-
[09:02] -irc.efnet.pl- *** Checking Ident
-
[09:02] -irc.efnet.pl- *** Couldn't look up your hostname
-
[09:02] -irc.efnet.pl- *** Got Ident response

after connecting, I do a whois on me with //whois $me and the reply always shows:
WazntMe is [email]WazntMe@217.17.33.10[/email]
(or the IP number of what ever IRC server I'm connected to).

Can anyone shed any light on this?

-----------------------------------
System:

Intel P4 2.5 GHZ
2.0 Gb Ram
Windows XP Professional with SP2
Radeon X800 All in wonder
Soundblaster Audigy 2
Western Digital 200 GB Hard Drive
Western Digital 200 GB Hard Drive
Samsung DVD/+-RW

-----------------------------------

Re: Couldn't look up your hostname #147352 17/04/06 01:47 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
G
genius_at_work Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
G
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
It means that the DNS that provides your hostname isn't responding correctly, or hasn't propagated the hostname values to the DNS server that efnet queries. You will probably have to contact your ISP to resolve that problem.

-genius_at_work

Re: Couldn't look up your hostname #147353 17/04/06 01:51 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
W
WazntMe Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
W
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
I find this difficult to believe, as this happens with EVERY server I connect to. Additionally, every person that I've asked to do a "nslookup" on my IP shows the reverse DNS as it should be. Check it yourself, the IP number is in the original message.

Re: Couldn't look up your hostname #147354 17/04/06 02:09 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
G
genius_at_work Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
G
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
Oh, I see what you mean now..

I don't think that it is due to anything that mIRC has any control over. mIRC doesn't tell the server what your IP and hostname are. The IP is known from the socket connection, and the hostmask is looked up through the server's DNS. Maybe ask the IRCOps on those networks about what could be causing that problem. Or maybe ask other users if they are having the same issue.

-genius_at_work

Re: Couldn't look up your hostname #147355 17/04/06 02:11 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
W
WazntMe Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
W
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
One small problem with that, as my hostmask is incorrect, I can do NOTHING once connected (to include join any channels, or send any privmsgs)

Re: Couldn't look up your hostname #147356 17/04/06 02:21 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
G
genius_at_work Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
G
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
That is a very strange problem indeed. I have no other ideas on what could be causing that problem. Unless someone else has any solutions.

Your example shows a particular efnet server, but have you tried connecting to other efnet servers as well as other servers on other networks? From the efnet webpage:

Quote:
Why can't my hostname be looked up?
This problem likely had to do with either your DNS server, or the one by
the IRC server you are trying to connect to. Unless you happen to run one
of these machines, there really isn't much you can do. However, the
servers with the open I:line should still let you on.


If you haven't already, try looking it up on google: http://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&q="Couldn%27t+look+up+your+hostname"+efnet

-genius_at_work

Re: Couldn't look up your hostname [Re: WazntMe] #170837 15/02/07 06:03 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
G
grno Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
G
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Originally Posted By: WazntMe
One small problem with that, as my hostmask is incorrect, I can do NOTHING once connected (to include join any channels, or send any privmsgs)


i have the same problem, anyone have any idea how to fix this? i'm on comcast behind the netgear router they supplied. i have identd working.