mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#168617 11/01/07 06:01 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
T
Tom_S Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
T
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Just thought I would put in a request for a 64-bit version if this has not already been shot down.

Tom_S #168618 11/01/07 06:10 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
I dont remember it being 'shut down', but think the responses last time this was suggested was that for the time being there is no significant need or advantage of a 64bit version of mirc.


"Allen is having a small problem and needs help adjusting his attitude" - Flutterby
Om3n #168621 11/01/07 10:43 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
The need will become more apparent in the next couple of years as people who buy 64 bit machines will most likely want a 64 bit version of Windows on it. I know I will be when I upgrade to Vista in the next month or two so I will most likely have to get my older laptop out to run mIRC on.

The advantage? Well that is a different issue and perhaps there is none at this time. One thing is for sure - mIRC has a huge market share and that is unlikely to be dented in the short time by the lack of a 64 bit version. It would be nice to know what Khaled has planned in this department.

Watchdog #168624 11/01/07 12:46 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
Forgive me if i am mistaken, but i thought the 64bit versions of both Vista and XP had the capability of running 32bit programs?


"Allen is having a small problem and needs help adjusting his attitude" - Flutterby
Tom_S #168629 11/01/07 04:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,541
L
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,541
Tom, ultimately here's the breakdown as I remember it.....Of the people who want to see it, not everybody sees the need for it so soon.


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
Om3n #169376 22/01/07 11:24 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Om3n, one would think so but some old rumours (which I have never verified personally) dictate that mIRC still has some snippets of old code from the 16 bit days and as far as I know, neither XP or Vista will recognise it. I take this to mean that mIRC will happily install and run, until of course a function relying old older code is called. Here are some previous discussions on this subject.

https://forums.mirc.com/ubbthreads.php?ub...amp;Search=true
https://forums.mirc.com/ubbthreads.php?ub...amp;Search=true
https://forums.mirc.com/ubbthreads.php?ub...amp;Search=true

Watchdog #169827 28/01/07 11:17 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
Ah yes, i remember hearing that from time to time also. If that is the case i think the first step would be to replace such code.

At least if mIRC is a fully 32bit codebase, then it can be run through WoW64 for now.


"Allen is having a small problem and needs help adjusting his attitude" - Flutterby
Om3n #170107 03/02/07 11:32 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
B
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
I run 32-bit mIRC on 32-bit XP, but: my install is completely devoid of WoW16, NTVDM, and all their libraries and haven't had any problems, at least I have not run into something that uses a 16-bit api causing it not to function. Otherwise I don't recall wowexec/ntvdm running once during use (i always keep mirc open).

Last edited by bwuser; 03/02/07 11:33 AM.

Link Copied to Clipboard