mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
zone alarm problem #168405 08/01/07 08:47 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
J
Janyy Offline OP
Mostly harmless
OP Offline
Mostly harmless
J
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
I have a problem with zonealarm and mirc.
I allowed the mirc in the zonealarm program control, but i always get this message from mirc:

[09:45:17] * Connecting to irc.quakenet.org (6668)
-
[09:45:19] -irc.quakenet.org- [ Blocked by Zone Labs Security ]
-
[09:45:19] -irc.quakenet.org- [ Blocked by Zone Labs Security ]
-
[09:45:19] * Disconnected

What can i do with it?

Re: zone alarm problem [Re: Janyy] #168415 08/01/07 11:27 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Doqnach Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
search the forum, this has been explained quite a few times already


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
Re: zone alarm problem [Re: Doqnach] #168420 08/01/07 02:16 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
It's also not a bug, but a connection issue. smile


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: zone alarm problem [Re: Janyy] #168496 09/01/07 09:41 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
U
ultraviolent Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
U
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
Yanno guys in the time and effort it takes to post a search the forum or it aint a bug reply you could of copy/paste the correct answer or said nothing.

Janyy: open zonealarm and click IM security select settings from the top and click advanced. If the block irc is checked then uncheck it and that should fix it.


Regards Ultraviolent

Re: zone alarm problem [Re: ultraviolent] #168507 09/01/07 02:24 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
And if no one ever says to search the forum, then people will continue to ask questions that are answered hundreds of times (or even tens of times) and we'll have a LOT of basically duplicate posts that just make finding the correct answer that much more difficult. Also, I'm sure most of us don't really want to search the forum FOR someone. I don't use Zone Alarm -- I'd never use it no matter what -- so that would require searching the forum for the exact method for that firewall... the same thing the OP should be doing.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: zone alarm problem [Re: Riamus2] #168517 09/01/07 05:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
U
ultraviolent Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
U
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
And yes that is fair enough but what did your post do to help? No link to the answer just a "its not a bug thing" sorry but to me thats a wasted post. I am not trying to dis you in anyway, I understand that we have different views. But if there is no value to the answer why post at all ? Unless you are wanting a big post number that is. Anyway I hope the user has the issue resolved and I wish him/her good luck on IRC.
Ultraviolent

Just a thought maybe the Zonealarm issue could be made into a sticky?

Re: zone alarm problem [Re: ultraviolent] #168525 09/01/07 07:29 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
This post was originally in the bugs forum, where it should not be. Should all posts just go into random forums? That would just confuse everyone. Better to let people know the difference.

And, watch what you say regarding post counts. Look at the amount I help here and try saying that again.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: zone alarm problem [Re: Riamus2] #168529 09/01/07 10:08 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
U
ultraviolent Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
U
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
I guess it must be true yes you have an impressive post count however looking at your amount of help given in this case yes I do wonder how many are helpful and how many are post counts, also I dont need to watch what I say. This discussion is over in more ways than 1
Thank you for your replies they have been most entertaining
Ultraviolent

Re: zone alarm problem [Re: ultraviolent] #169070 18/01/07 11:02 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
W
WillRiker Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
W
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Originally Posted By: ultraviolent
Yanno guys in the time and effort it takes to post a search the forum or it aint a bug reply you could of copy/paste the correct answer or said nothing.

Janyy: open zonealarm and click IM security select settings from the top and click advanced. If the block irc is checked then uncheck it and that should fix it.


Regards Ultraviolent


-zagreb.hr.eu.undernet.org- [ Blocked by ZoneAlarm Security ]
-
-zagreb.hr.eu.undernet.org- [ Blocked by ZoneAlarm Security ]
-
* Disconnected

I have same problem , I cant find Im security settings in the zone alarm free , pls help .

Last edited by WillRiker; 18/01/07 11:03 PM.
Re: zone alarm problem [Re: WillRiker] #169095 19/01/07 06:39 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
CtrlAltDel Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994


I refuse to engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed person. wink
Re: zone alarm problem [Re: WillRiker] #169097 19/01/07 08:16 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
U
ultraviolent Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
U
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
I am not sure of the free version anymore but I can d/load it and see, however there are quite a few versions of zonealarm about now I wonder which one you have. Just a thought though if you have the free version which is a trial I believe then it only lasts 15 days, what is the point in unblocking it for 15 days?

Ultraviolent

P.S I have not actually used zonealarm for a number of years due to running linux so any help or info appreciated.

Re: zone alarm problem [Re: ultraviolent] #169448 23/01/07 05:07 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
CtrlAltDel Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
Quote:
ZoneAlarm is FREE for individual and not-for-profit charitable entity use (excluding governmental entities and educational institutions).


The free version is limited to firewall only, and is not a trial version.

to: WillRiker
You need to make sure ZoneAlarm is configured to allow your mirc to access the internet.


I refuse to engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed person. wink
Re: zone alarm problem [Re: CtrlAltDel] #170056 02/02/07 08:27 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
A
aggressio Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
A
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Searched the forum, as told, and found these answers:

check the IM tab
--> doesn't apply in the free version (latest)

uncheck "filter IP traffic over 1394"
--> didn't work

the mirc is all green in zone alarm. Never had this problem with previous versions of zone alarm (7.0.302.000)

internet protection is default to high
tried turning firewall off --> didn't work. "blocked by zone alarm"

interesting, while the zonealarm isn't supposed to be blocking anything ?:P



Re: zone alarm problem [Re: aggressio] #170067 02/02/07 02:46 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 196
C
Constantine Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
C
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 196
Well it looks like you have some options 1) upgrade to the paid version. 2)Uninstall it and use something else 3)send a report to their support staff

Sadly it would seem no one knows how to enable IRC in the free version perhaps its a bug in the software ?



Happy mIRC user on Linux
Re: zone alarm problem [Re: Constantine] #170261 06/02/07 03:50 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
CtrlAltDel Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
Originally Posted By: Constantine

Sadly it would seem no one knows how to enable IRC in the free version perhaps its a bug in the software ?


There's no setting in the free version to "enable IRC" because there's no setting to disable it. If mIRC (or whatever IRC client you choose to use) is unable to connect, it is because you do not have all 4 boxes checked.


I refuse to engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed person. wink
Re: zone alarm problem [Re: Janyy] #170458 09/02/07 05:11 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 37
RieDeLL Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 37
ive posted about this check here


while ($noob = $true) { .stfu }
Re: zone alarm problem [Re: RieDeLL] #170886 16/02/07 02:56 AM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
O
osa1011 Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
O
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
I had to revert to ZoneAlarm 6.5.722 in order to use any irc(I couldn't get chatzilla to work either).

you can download it here.
http://tinyurl.com/2zm6v