mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#167535 26/12/06 01:56 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
D
doh123 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
D
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Hi
Im sure some of you have seen the !latest scripts that are around on irc channels, anyone know how the ones with the numbers at the beginning of each line and the time added at the end of each line work?
Sort of like this

1)some text here added 2hrs 45mins 17secs ago
2)
some different text added 3hrs 12mins 38secs ago
and so on

I really have no clue how this works so cant even paste any script at all, if anyone is feeling generous and wants to give some code examples that would be great
Thanks in advance, just in case

doh123 #167558 26/12/06 05:22 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 400
K
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
K
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 400
ok, i was going to wait longer to see if someone had heard of something like that. Honestly, i have never heard of a script like that, is it possible if you could give some examples of how the script works? maybe a quote or two?


-Kurdish_Assass1n
doh123 #167563 26/12/06 05:44 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Well, it depends on how you store the data.

Here's a simple example if you store the data in a text file using:

//write filename.txt text $ctime
Code:
on *:text:!latest:#: {
  if (!$isfile(filename.txt)) { msg $chan No data available. | return }
  .play -a playlatest $chan filename.txt 1500
}

alias -l playlatest {
  inc %latest.cnt
  msg $1 %latest.cnt $+ $chr(41) $gettok($2-,1- $calc($gettok($2-,0,32) - 1),32) $duration($calc($ctime - $gettok($2-,0,32)))
  if (%latest.cnt >= $lines(filename.txt)) { unset %latest.cnt }
}


That should work fine. Just remember that you need to use that command to write the data to the text file. If you manually enter the information into the text file, you need to find out what $ctime is and not just type $ctime there. To find out what it is, you can type //echo -a $ctime


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Riamus2 #167576 26/12/06 10:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
D
doh123 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
D
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Hi Riamus2
Thank you for taking the time to reply and for the script example, However there seems to be some problems with it, again i have no idea why as i didnt know how it was going to work in the first place.
Here is what i did to get it to add text to the latest.txt file
on *:text:*:#mychan: {
if !latest == $1 {
if $nick isop #mychan {
if .add == $2 {
.write latest.txt $3- $ctime
halt
}
alias -l playlatest {
inc %latest.cnt
notice $nick %latest.cnt $+ $chr(41) $gettok($2-,1- $calc($gettok($2-,0,32) - 1),32) $duration($calc($ctime - $gettok($2-,0,32)))
if (%latest.cnt >= $lines(latest.txt)) { unset %latest.cnt }
}
.play -a playlatest $nick latest.txt 1500
}
}
I changed the msg $1 in your code to notice $nick as it came up with the error 'no such nick !latest'
If i use !latest .add test1 and then open the latest.txt file it shows test1 1167171691
But if i then type !latest i get 1) 1929wks 5days 22hrs 24mins 13secs If i add more to latest.txt such as !latest .add test2 and !latest .add test3 etc. it also adds them to the text file but when i type !latest again i get the first entry as before with none of the text that was added (test1, test2 and test3) followed by Unknown command: PLAYLATEST in the status window of the client that is running the script
Any clue what is going wrong?
Thanks again for your time

doh123 #167581 26/12/06 11:59 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 313
S
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 313
Code:
on *:text:*:#mychan: {
  if !latest == $1 {
    if $nick isop #mychan {
      if .add == $2 {
        .write latest.txt $3- $ctime
        halt
      }
      alias -l playlatest {
        inc %latest.cnt
        notice $nick %latest.cnt $+ $chr(41) $gettok($2-,1- $calc($gettok($2-,0,32) - 1),32) $duration($calc($ctime - $gettok($2-,0,32)))
        if (%latest.cnt >= $lines(latest.txt)) { unset %latest.cnt }
      }
      .play -a playlatest $nick latest.txt 1500
    }
  }


With the code tags and some proper indentation you can (I hope) see where the problem is.... (note that the braces don't match up)

I also don't see anywhere where you actually call the alias (that you haven't actually created...<hint>) playlatest...


Sais
Sais #167586 27/12/06 03:07 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
D
doh123 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
D
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Yep i can see the benefit of proper indentation, but i think i should have left the original code example alone as i seem to have caused more problems.
No matter, my complete lack of scripting skills is at fault so your reply (apart from showing me proper indentation) was wasted.
But thanks for taking the time all the same

Update:
Actually the code example doesn't work. I tried it as is and manually entered the text along with doing //echo -a $ctime to get the time of the entry and although it does add the numbers to the start of each line it still outputs like this

1) test1 1929wks 6days 3hrs 22mins 32secs
2) test2 1929wks 6days 3hrs 22mins 33secs
3) test3 1929wks 6days 3hrs 22mins 35secs
4) test4 1929wks 6days 3hrs 22mins 36secs

Why it has 1929wks etc i have no idea, also the entries were added several minutes apart but shows only a second or two difference in the output.

Last edited by doh123; 27/12/06 03:32 AM.
doh123 #167603 27/12/06 01:58 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 313
S
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 313
$duration($ctime) is around that figure, so presumably you're not subtracting the correct value from it.


Sais
doh123 #167607 27/12/06 04:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Well, you had some problems with how you set it up.
Code:
on *:text:*:#mychan: {
  if (!latest == $1) { 
    if (.add == $2) { 
      if ($nick isop #mychan) { 
        .write latest.txt $3- $ctime
      }
    }
    else {
      .play -a playlatest $nick latest.txt 1500
    }
  }
} 
alias -l playlatest {
  inc %latest.cnt
  notice $1 %latest.cnt $+ $chr(41) $gettok($2-,1- $calc($gettok($2-,0,32) - 1),32) $duration($calc($ctime - $gettok($2-,0,32)))
  if (%latest.cnt >= $lines(latest.txt)) { unset %latest.cnt }
}


That will work. You can change it back to msg if you want to. You *have* to leave it at $1 in the alias.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Riamus2 #167620 27/12/06 09:07 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
D
doh123 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
D
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Well thanks again for the rewrite of my messed up code.
I don't know what is going on here but I copied your code and ran it (yes I did unload the previous script and even rebooted the comp) but the output is exactly the same as before.

1) test1 1929wks 6days 3hrs 22mins 32secs
2) test2 1929wks 6days 3hrs 22mins 33secs
3) test3 1929wks 6days 3hrs 22mins 35secs
4) test4 1929wks 6days 3hrs 22mins 36secs

Again the enties were added at several min intervals, but again show as being only 1 or 2 secs apart and, as you can see, with the 1929wks etc also.
Man I am confused

doh123 #167639 28/12/06 04:12 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Sorry. My fault. I forgot something. Here you are:

Code:
on *:text:*:#mychan: {
  if (!latest == $1) { 
    if (.add == $2) { 
      if ($nick isop #mychan) { 
        .write latest.txt $3- $ctime
      }
    }
    else {
      .play -a playlatest $nick latest.txt 1500
    }
  }
} 
alias -l playlatest {
  inc %latest.cnt
  notice $1 %latest.cnt $+ $chr(41) $gettok($2-,1- $calc($gettok($2-,0,32) - 1),32) $duration($calc($ctime - $gettok($2-,$gettok($2-,0,32),32)))
  if (%latest.cnt >= $lines(latest.txt)) { unset %latest.cnt }
}


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Riamus2 #167646 28/12/06 05:31 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
D
doh123 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
D
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
That works, no need to apologise, I am thankful for the time you have given to it
Thank you again Riamus2


Link Copied to Clipboard