mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
no text?!?!?!? bug #165120 22/11/06 04:21 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
S
shukero Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
S
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
os: windows xp SP2
mIRC Version: was 6.2, went back to 6.17 to solve problem but failed
Router: NO ROUTER
Add ons: AkFtpAd 3.19, aCONNECT 2.00

Ok here is the problem I am having, (and I hope there's a solution) I have been please with mIRC ever since I started using it but for some reason ever since about last week I keep having a problem with receiving text. As in, If I dont talk for an our on anything in mIRC, I will not get any messages from anyone in the channel EXCEPT for the joining / parting announcements. Even worse is that my addons and triggers to mIRC that I added, DO NOT RUN after that 1 hour window I told you about above. Does anyone have a solution to this problem? I tried to think of something that might have caused this like the triggers I made, so I got rid of them and STILL it does this weird thing. I just thought of something though, about a week ago I installed firefox 2.0 and I beleive that it has been acting up ever since then. But I know that firefox 2.0 is not at fault so I still dont know what could be causing this. I have realized that other people have been having the same problems but for example my friend who uses mirc has to log into his old registered nick in orer to see everyones text again. PLEASE HELP :'(

Last edited by shukero; 22/11/06 04:21 PM.
Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165121 22/11/06 04:31 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 759
M
Mpdreamz Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 759
I wasnt able to locate AkFtpAd and for aCONNECT only a 1.0 versionon mircscripts.com which at a first quick glance doesn't do anything weird in places one would expect if a problem like this comes up.

try typing /!remote off and see if the problems persist


$maybe
Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165122 22/11/06 05:24 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 313
S
Sais Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 313
You mentioned logging into a nick - is that a different nick? Are your connections through a proxy? I have heard of problems where you don't receive messages for you because the proxy thinks you have a different nick to the one mIRC thinks you have...

If you are through a proxy, try connecting directly to the server. Do you get the same issues?


Sais
Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165123 22/11/06 09:10 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
One thing I have heard of is that some servers automatically stop sending you text from the channels you are in if you are idle for too long. Once you are no longer idle, you should start receiving the text again. It's possible your network implemented that.

You may want to just run a script that keeps you from being idle.

Put this in perform:
timer $+ $server 0 60 .raw ping $me

That should keep you from being idle for more than 60 seconds. Of course, you'll fill your status window with the PONG messages. You can increase 60 to a higher number (maybe 1800 for half an hour) so that you aren't getting as many PONGs.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165124 23/11/06 04:06 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
Id say that is almost certianly what his problem is, if he hadnt loaded any new scripts, and this juast begain happening out of the blue, you can almost be sure its not at his end, i would say doubly so as he says its only when he goes idle, and hey lets facce it, we all know what type of channels you just sit in and go idle in :-) oh wait were not ment to talk about that, it never ever ever happens.

Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165125 23/11/06 09:16 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 313
S
Sais Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 313
You mean sitting idle in help channels? Why aren't we supposed to talk about that? Osmile


Sais
Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165126 23/11/06 03:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,021
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,021
Rizon has chan mode +B which is bandwidth saver which
prevents clients from receiving channel messages if they
are set away or are idle longer than 30 minutes.

Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165127 23/11/06 04:27 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 804
Jigsy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 804
I may have read what you said wrong but I hope this might help.

Do you have +d (Deaf mode.) set?

Last edited by Jigsy; 23/11/06 04:27 PM.

What do you do at the end of the world? Are you busy? Will you save us?
Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165128 24/11/06 03:40 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
S
shukero Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
S
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Quote:
One thing I have heard of is that some servers automatically stop sending you text from the channels you are in if you are idle for too long. Once you are no longer idle, you should start receiving the text again. It's possible your network implemented that.

You may want to just run a script that keeps you from being idle.

Put this in perform:
timer $+ $server 0 60 .raw ping $me

That should keep you from being idle for more than 60 seconds. Of course, you'll fill your status window with the PONG messages. You can increase 60 to a higher number (maybe 1800 for half an hour) so that you aren't getting as many PONGs.


Is there a way so that it does show the "Pong" thingy?? cause it gets kinda annoying -_@ thanks in advance

Last edited by shukero; 24/11/06 03:51 AM.
Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165129 24/11/06 04:28 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
tools/options/irc/options/hide pong? ping! event

Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165130 24/11/06 09:43 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
S
shukero Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
S
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
yeah well that pong thing keeps showing up.... and I can't change that timer thing for some reason... ALL THESE PONGS >_<

Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165131 24/11/06 09:47 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
You would have to find out what RAW event that is and halt it. As for changing the timer, as I said before, just change 60 to a higher number. This may not be the nicest way to handle it, but it's the easiest. Or just avoid such networks.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165132 24/11/06 11:16 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,021
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,021
/help on pong

/help haltdef

Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165133 25/11/06 12:08 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
S
shukero Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
S
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Quote:
/help on pong

/help haltdef


I did that on 1:PONG:echo pong reply: $1-

But Im not sure if thats gonna help block the pong messages .... but thanks ^_^

Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165134 25/11/06 01:34 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Uh... that will just echo it. You want to HALT/HALTDEF it.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165135 25/11/06 02:55 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,021
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,021
on ^*:PONG:haltdef

Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165136 25/11/06 04:30 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
S
shukero Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
S
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Quote:
on ^*:PONG:haltdef


Ok so since i put that into my remotes, will that cancel out that stupid pong stuff?

Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165137 25/11/06 05:32 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Yes. A quick test of it would show that.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165138 26/11/06 05:40 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
S
shukero Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
S
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
ok, I have done all that and I was wondering how to try and turn off the +d thing?? cause for some reason the timer isnt working for the away thing....

Im starting to think that this might have something rto do with firefox 2.0, because for some reason I didnt notice anything wrong with my mIRC before I installed firefox 2.0 ...so is it possible that mIRC and firefox 2.0 are having conflicts?? Im thinking maybe not because of the bfact that I still see the joins / parts.... tell me what you guy think.

Last edited by shukero; 26/11/06 05:56 PM.
Re: no text?!?!?!? bug #165139 26/11/06 10:05 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Although I don't have a netwok that uses that, you should be able to do:

/mode yournick -d

Assuming it's not a network mode that you have no control over.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Page 1 of 2 1 2