mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
DDE-Bug: Topic: USERS #163713 03/11/06 08:23 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
A
AlphaOrb Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
A
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Hi,
when I try to read the users joined to a special channel in mIRC via DDE, I can only read the users from the one channel, that is actually selected...

But I need to see also users in channels, that are not selectet in mirc.

Please fix this bug! confused

Re: DDE-Bug: Topic: USERS #163714 03/11/06 09:49 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 214
S
Sephiroth_ Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 214
use "command" and evaluate it


one step closer to world domination
Re: DDE-Bug: Topic: USERS #163715 03/11/06 11:11 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
A
AlphaOrb Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
A
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Why?
The Problem is "users". When I call it on a channel, not selected in mirc, I got an empty string as result.

A simple bug.

Re: DDE-Bug: Topic: USERS #163716 06/11/06 02:26 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,020
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,020
That's right, DDE topics return the value for the currently active server, since you could be on multiple servers and joined on the same named channel on all of them. If you want to retrieve information across multiple server connections, you must use the COMMAND topic to evaluate it.

Re: DDE-Bug: Topic: USERS #163717 06/11/06 04:54 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 313
S
Sais Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 313
It seems to work fine for me - whether the channel is active or not in mIRC, I get the users list.

Or did you mean that you can't get a users list for a channel which mIRC has not joined?

[I should refresh before posting....ignore the above smile ]

Last edited by Sais; 06/11/06 05:03 PM.

Sais
Re: DDE-Bug: Topic: USERS #163718 07/11/06 12:01 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Doqnach Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
seeing the reply from khaled it would be a channel on a different server then the one he has currenly active (aka, server window or channel/pm/whatever selected at)

let's say he wants to know #A on network A, but he has channel #B on network B selected he doesn't get the info because the DDE method he uses only returns stuff for the _ACTIVE_ server connection


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
Re: DDE-Bug: Topic: USERS #163719 08/11/06 08:34 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
A
AlphaOrb Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
A
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
ok, I will test it with a mirc connectet to only one server