|
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 307
Fjord artisan
|
OP
Fjord artisan
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 307 |
when I have a script that will msg a person with a very long line, mirc will simply delete the whooole script
|
|
|
|
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252 |
Just how long of a line are you sending when you notice this?
|
|
|
|
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
Ameglian cow
|
Ameglian cow
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 26 |
i actually noticed this i think back in mirc 5.9. my solution was to never do that again. my very long line was a replace list. i was quite upset when it happened.
lesson learned, not to try that again. i believe it would have resulted in a line too long error anyway, but deleting the whole script is a bit drastic.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252 |
I just tried sending myself a constantly increasingly long line, starting at 800 characters and limiting it to 1000 characters (which is sufficient to cause the line too long error), and it worked exactly the way I expected it to, and the script that I wrote for this process was still present, so I'm unable to duplicate this problem.
If you can replicate the problem and provide a sample code, it will be helpful to all of us considering this report.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
Ameglian cow
|
Ameglian cow
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 26 |
like i said, i discovered it back in mirc 5.9 i believe, so i have no clue what i did and had no code remaining for proving it.
i believe what i did was similar to this though:
set %mysring $replace(texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith,texttobereplaced,texttoreplaceitwith)
all on one line, or something drastic like that. iirc when i clicked ok i tried out the script and it didn't work, so i went back into the scripts editor only to find that my script was gone.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063 |
the script editor has a maximum line length... it would be nice if you could just simply not enter more then that but alas, you can and it will be truncated...
something to solve this problem is to use $& to span stuff over multiple lines
If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,530
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,530 |
I can't seem to reproduce this issue here. Can you post the specific line that causes this problem?
|
|
|
|
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 201
Fjord artisan
|
Fjord artisan
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 201 |
When entering in a long line in a script ie if (something == something) || (somethingelse == somethingelse) || etc.. if the line gets too long and i press the { } button the whole line dissapeared. im asuming this is the long line in script editor bug referred to?
|
|
|
|
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741 |
I've confirmed this bug. I made a line that was longer than 949 characters (excluding the spaced added by [{}] button and excluding the crlf at the end of line). When I clicked the [{}] button (or hit OK on the editor and reopened it), the long line was completely gone. I used this code to test it:
alias x {
if (%a = 1234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678) echo -a aa
if (%b = 12345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789) echo -a bb
{
if (%c = 12345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789) echo -a cc
}
}
Copy that exact code to your editor (ensure that each line is hard against the left side of the text box area), and hit [{}]. The first long line should remain, and the second long line should disappear. The {}'s around the third line demonstrate that the amount of indent has no effect. Note: The lines can be easily identified by the %a %b %c in the if statement. -genius_at_work
|
|
|
|
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,127
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,127 |
Had to clean up the lines in text editor before they'd paste correctly. I'm not finding that the script gets deleted as the thread originally starts with. Instead, the %b = and %c = lines both disappear in mIRC 6.2.
Same thing happens in mIRC 6.16, but in 5.91 it instead only chopped the last letter of the bb and cc echo values.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741 |
When you are copying code from this forum, you should paste it into windows Wordpad and then copy it again from there and paste it into the mIRC editor. That will elimitate having the code appear on one long line.
-genius_at_work
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,530
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,530 |
Thanks this has been fixed for the next version.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 201
Fjord artisan
|
Fjord artisan
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 201 |
Thanks this has been fixed for the next version. I am starting to wonder if its worth you investing in a new keyboard with how many things are being fixed up and so quickly. Keep up the good work 
|
|
|
|
|