mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
about the new switchbar #154425 29/07/06 04:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
K
krake Offline OP
Mostly harmless
OP Offline
Mostly harmless
K
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
I don't like that new buttons, so..could you please make a checkbox to turn the buttons smaller again ?

Re: about the new switchbar #154426 29/07/06 04:38 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
L
landonsandor Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
An option for that would be a good idea - or better yet, let us decide our own size by an edit box and we can edit the number of inches we want them to be. A checkbox to allways allow full names to be shown regardless of how small we make it - so like if a name is 4 inches long but we choose the box to be 3 inches long, it goes 4 inches would be nice smile


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
Re: about the new switchbar #154427 29/07/06 05:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 212
V
vasil_michev Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
V
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 212
why did Khaled change the size at first place? i hate the new buttons smirk


And all I need now is intellectual intercourse, a soul to dig the hole much deeper
Re: about the new switchbar #154428 29/07/06 05:41 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,009
raZOR Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,009
they are also screwed with win themes


IceCapped
Re: about the new switchbar #154429 29/07/06 06:52 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
I don't know what people are whining about, I can barely see the difference.


Mentality/Chris
Re: about the new switchbar #154430 29/07/06 07:04 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 218
P
PhantasyX Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
P
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 218
Quote:
I don't know what people are whining about, I can barely see the difference.


I agree, with 6.2 switchbar buttons set to Small (Options -> Display). There's only 1px height difference. (Atleast on my machine).



Live to Dream & Dream for Life
Re: about the new switchbar #154431 29/07/06 07:29 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
R
rubah Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
R
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
it's not the height difference. It's the width. on two networks with seven channels open, that takes up the entire width of the switchbar, rather than them being 82 px wide or whatever in 6.17. I'm not used to looking that far over, and it just looks cluttered, so right now i have a couple of query windows open to make them be in the right spots frown

Re: about the new switchbar #154432 29/07/06 08:30 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 243
G
gomp Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
G
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 243
Quote:
it's not the height difference. It's the width. on two networks with seven channels open, that takes up the entire width of the switchbar, rather than them being 82 px wide or whatever in 6.17. I'm not used to looking that far over, and it just looks cluttered, so right now i have a couple of query windows open to make them be in the right spots frown


I hate this..

Whish there was an option to rightclisk the tab, and make it staywherver you wanted it..


crazy

Last edited by gomp; 29/07/06 08:30 PM.

I do not speak English. I speak Norwegian. So please bear with my poor English spelling and grammar.
Re: about the new switchbar #154433 29/07/06 08:44 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 243
G
gomp Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
G
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 243
I wish they could have been EVEN SMALLER! smile


I do not speak English. I speak Norwegian. So please bear with my poor English spelling and grammar.
Re: about the new switchbar #154434 30/07/06 09:45 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
Om3n Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
agreed, the button size options are not to my liking, i would suggest that the 'small' be equivelent to the old mirc 6.17 and earlier size, AND in addition i think there should be a 'cutom' option to allow you to set the height and width manually as you were able to do in pre 6.2 versions.
also mentioned by Sephiroth_ here http://forums.mirc.com/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=162111&an=0&page=0

I agree, in previos version you could also manually change the height and width, this feature is no longer availible in 6.2. Not quiet sure what advantage or reasoning was behind the change, but i dont see why the effort would be made to further restrict you by giving just 3 size options. (as apposed to an infinate number of possibilities in previous versions)

Mentality, while the difference is minimal (actually 2px on my system, 1 top and 1 bottom), for people in a larger number of channels and/or networks this can add up quite quickly.

My suggestion would be for the small option to be consistant with pre 6.2 versions of mirc (24x82?) and the addition of a 'custom' option where you can manually set the height to a value of your choice (as also avail. in pre 6.2 versions, width possibly no longer neccersary since it can be dragged)


"Allen is having a small problem and needs help adjusting his attitude" - Flutterby
Re: about the new switchbar #154435 30/07/06 10:37 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 212
V
vasil_michev Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
V
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 212
well this is how it looks on my screen, its HUGE:

It can fit 30+ chars I guess, way too much empty space

btw, we are talking about width when switchbar position is top/bottom

Last edited by vasil_michev; 30/07/06 10:40 AM.

And all I need now is intellectual intercourse, a soul to dig the hole much deeper
Re: about the new switchbar #154436 30/07/06 10:59 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
Om3n Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
I completely overlooked the effect of the width, as i use mine on the side. In which case i take back my comment about manual customization of the width not being needed, since although its not needed for those that use a side switchbar it would be good for those that use it on top or bottom.


"Allen is having a small problem and needs help adjusting his attitude" - Flutterby
Re: about the new switchbar #154437 30/07/06 01:45 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
F
FiXato Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
F
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
I'd like to vote for the return of the custom sizes as well.
I think I just lost about 2 or 3 lines worth of text in my channel overview smirk


Also, Om3n, even for the side Switchbar it would be very usefull to atleast define the height of the tabs.

Re: about the new switchbar #154438 30/07/06 02:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
Om3n Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
Ps.. you guys can ignore the entire first paragraph in my original post, at the end i had 'scribbled' it down in a text file to post about late. Kinda forgot to remove it when i did type the post.


"Allen is having a small problem and needs help adjusting his attitude" - Flutterby
Re: about the new switchbar #154439 30/07/06 05:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
The number of characters displayed is dependent on the amount of space each character takes up. I tried
#1234567890123456789012345
shows #1234567890123456789...
yet a channel that I'm working on
#A-BDSM-Truth-or-Dare-Dungeon
shows #A-BDSM-Truth-or-Dare-...

If you count the actual number of characters being displayed, the channel with all numbers has fewer characters than the other channel.

Re: about the new switchbar #154440 02/08/06 10:05 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 325
W
Wolfie Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
W
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 325
Here's my visual comarison...

6.16 on top, 6.20 on bottom



6.16 left, 6.20 right


I like having itty bitty buttons. Once I loaded up 6.20, I couldn't help but notice how huge the switchbar had gotten.

I do 3 rows. Seeing how there is a noticable difference with just one, you can imagine how much different 3 would be. It's such a difference that 2 rows of 6.20 is just about the same height as 3 of 6.16 (for me).

I do like the tree idea, I think that will be very helpful to some people. I doubt I'll be making use of it myself, but that's just a personal preferance and not any sort of dislike with the tree. However I do think that the display menu option could be broken down to have switchbar and tree submenus. That way, you know what options are for which view. Also, give us back our custom sizes...while at it, let us size smaller than 24 height for the buttons. smile

Re: about the new switchbar #154441 04/08/06 08:12 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
T
ThiefMaster Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
T
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
6.2:

6.17:

Re: about the new switchbar #154442 16/08/06 07:56 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
T
ThiefMaster Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
T
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
So... is there any change to get it changed maybe in 6.21?
Or did anyone hack the executable to change this (dunno if it's just an attribute of a gui element).

Re: about the new switchbar #154443 17/08/06 06:21 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 325
W
Wolfie Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
W
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 325
I hope it's changed back in 6.21

I like my itty bitty buttons.

Re: about the new switchbar #154444 20/08/06 09:45 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 50
X
x64 Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
X
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 50
You people need to grow up. The buttons get smaller if your switchbar fills up. Shut up and buy a bigger monitor. Do you complain to microsoft about the taskbar button sizes? Because it's exactly the same size.

Last edited by x64; 20/08/06 09:46 AM.
Re: about the new switchbar #154445 25/08/06 07:30 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 325
W
Wolfie Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
W
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 325
Quote:
You people need to grow up. The buttons get smaller if your switchbar fills up. Shut up and buy a bigger monitor. Do you complain to microsoft about the taskbar button sizes? Because it's exactly the same size.
Um, that's quite rude and to be bluntly honest, your own behavior shows who really needs to grow up.

As for the bigger monitor, you pay for it and I'll be more than happy to follow that advice, otherwise stop telling other people how to spend their money.

Thank you in advance for realizing your rudeness and not making yourself look worse by posting more rude comments. smile

Re: about the new switchbar #154446 30/08/06 10:40 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
T
ThiefMaster Offline
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
T
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
I just tested the automatic size changing and it actually works.
However, I like all buttons having the same size even if they could be bigger.
I'd really like to see a feature to toggle this in 6.21 - then everyone can use what he likes. smile

Re: about the new switchbar #154447 17/10/06 05:45 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
X
XCan Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
X
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
I agree, I switched back to 6.17 purely because of this. I too think keeping it customizable as in 6.17 is the best way to go. With a lot of channels open you do realise a huge difference in the amount of space it takes both vertically and horisontally.

Re: about the new switchbar [Re: krake] #166929 16/12/06 11:41 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 81
T
TRT Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
T
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 81
please bring back options to manually change the switchbar width and height frown

Re: about the new switchbar [Re: TRT] #166964 17/12/06 05:21 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
It looks to me like the button sizes have returned to the size that they were in 6.17 (and earlier) now that 6.21 has been released.
In the options dialog, I have the button size set for small, and it's almost identical to what I had in 6.17 (visually on my system the difference is an extra one pixel in the width, and no difference in the height).

If Khaled did bring back the option to control the height & width of the buttons (ie: allowing you to set the number of pixels) then I was unable to locate the setting.

Re: about the new switchbar [Re: RusselB] #167010 18/12/06 02:10 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
Om3n Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
This is certainly not the case, i cant compare 6.20 and 6.21 to determine if the 'width' when the bar is at the top or bottom has changed, but i can say that on 'small' the height is the same as 6.20 (larger than older versions) and the width when at top/bottom is significantly larger than the older versions.

This was actually the first thing i looked into when 6.21 was released (and again suggested the option be returned).

I guess my real confusion with it all is as to why it was removed in the first place?

I am still using 6.17 for my main client because i just couldn't get used to the significant difference in size at the time. i like the idea of the small medium and large options but the custom settings didn't really need to go did they?


"Allen is having a small problem and needs help adjusting his attitude" - Flutterby
Re: about the new switchbar [Re: krake] #175571 25/04/07 07:56 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
J
JohnS Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
J
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
what could be cool is an option maybe too for the buttons to be as big as the text label. so smaller named channels would have shorter buttons. especially cool if the switchbar is horizontal. not so much with the verticle orientation i guess laugh

Page 1 of 2 1 2