mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Surpressing specific content from DCC chat #151565 19/06/06 05:53 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
D
Div Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
D
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Hi all,

I have this channel protection bots.
It does many channel scans like clones for example to protect the channel.

when it finishes a scan or some sort, the bot will DCC chat me the stats of that scan.

Now, sometimes I get annoyed by the [EDIT!] DCC info it sends me, and I was wondering, is there a way for me to stop 'seeing' specific pm's from a specific user without using ignore? Cause I still want the bot to relay me other msg's, just not those of the clone scan stats at all times.

I wouldn't know what the context is for blocking something like this, if even possible. So if you guys would be so kind pointing me to the EVENT i need to use... ;-)

Thanks in advance smile

Edited, made an error when stating mp instead of DCC chat.
Cause if it were pm, I could just do a 'haltdef'.

Last edited by Div; 19/06/06 06:35 AM.
Re: Surpressing specific content from DCC chat #151566 19/06/06 09:43 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
/help ON CHAT

ex
on ^*:CHAT:<matchtext>:{ haltdef }

Works just like ON TEXT but is for dcc chats a PM equavilant would have looked like on ^*:TEXT:<matchtext>:?:{ haltdef }

PS: of curse u might want to add some if $nick = suchandsuch check in there for all i know

Re: Surpressing specific content from DCC chat #151567 19/06/06 09:54 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
D
Div Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
D
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Not quite...

That I already tried... But for some reason the HALTDEF will not work on DCC chats.

Re: Surpressing specific content from DCC chat #151568 19/06/06 10:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
L
landonsandor Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
it does for me, but I dont use matchtext for that. What I've done it check to see if the person DCCing me has permission and if not, doesnt even open the chat window. Beyond that, if they get thru that, it's cause I want to talk to them


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
Re: Surpressing specific content from DCC chat #151569 19/06/06 10:37 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
D
Div Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
D
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
correct. There are ways to block dcc's even before they open.

But it seems that the way the DCC protocol is handled within mIRC that it's not possible to haltdef the text being sent trough it.

What you are saying is something completely different.

Re: Surpressing specific content from DCC chat #151570 19/06/06 10:43 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
L
landonsandor Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
well, if you're closing down the DCC window every time, there isnt. If you keep the window open, then all you need to do is use the ^ and haltdef along with if ($1- == some text here). So for example:

on *:text:clone scan finished*:?: {
if ($nick == mybot) { haltdef }
}

I dont THINK you need a HALT in there, but if so, just do haltdef | halt. If your bot has a user level, then you could do:

on mybot:text:clone scan finished*:?:haltdef

If that isnt what you're looking for, then I could be mistaken and if so, forgive me


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
Re: Surpressing specific content from DCC chat #151571 19/06/06 10:47 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
D
Div Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
D
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
try this yourself:

Code:
on ^*:CHAT:*: {
 haltdef
}


By default this should halt ALL text being sent trought the DCC, but you'll see it wont.

Just open any fserv or dcc chat yourself to test...

Re: Surpressing specific content from DCC chat #151572 19/06/06 11:15 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
L
landonsandor Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
Funny, it works for me when I just DCC myself. I used this script to double check it was being sent right:

on ^*:CHAT:*: {
echo -s $1- | haltdef
}

and it echo'd only to my status screen and NOT the chat I had open. Sound like you have a script conflict there. How many ON CHAT events do you have in that same file? More than one? IF you do (and I wont know till you tell me) that could be the problem right there. Duplicate event types in the same file have historically caused problems with strange occurances.


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
Re: Surpressing specific content from DCC chat #151573 19/06/06 11:30 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
D
Div Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
D
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
OMG!

Thanks for pointing that out to me ;-)

It wasnt the dupe chat command issue but it did make me wonder...

So i went looking trought my remotes and I am using UPP script.

Code:
on  ^*:chat:*:{ 
  echo $color(text) -tmlbf =$nick $nbc $1- | halt
}


That line I found... That I didn't think of that before! LOL
Those lines just ECHO the output of dcc... so it werent real events I was seeing anyway ;-) it were echo's all along ;-)

Fixing that line to fill my needs now ;-)

Thanks for the tip ;-)

Re: Surpressing specific content from DCC chat #151574 19/06/06 11:54 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
L
landonsandor Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
lol anytime smile glad you got the problem fixed smile Combining events like that save all kinds of issues smile


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it
Re: Surpressing specific content from DCC chat #151575 19/06/06 01:17 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
change the

on ^*:chat:*:{

to be

on &^*:chat:*:{

then the other script wont ruin if yours has already haltdef'd it.

Re: Surpressing specific content from DCC chat #151576 19/06/06 02:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
L
landonsandor Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
didnt even think of that Dave cause I dont use it ever, but yes, that would work too


Those who fail history are doomed to repeat it