mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
behaviour complain #149096 13/05/06 10:31 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,009
raZOR Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,009
i wish to complain on mirc behaviour.
why when i copy/paste exe file from folder1 to folder2
mirc always load/use settings from folder1 ?

then what is the purpose of makeing NEW .ini files in new folder if it always uses files from previous folder ??? !!!

this going on my nerves and i always must INSTALL it to folder2 and i cant chose "save current settings" because it will AGAIN use settings from folder1 and if i choose NOT to "save current settings" then i need to configure mirc craps all over again from begining which is even bigger crap!


IceCapped
Re: behaviour complain #149097 14/05/06 01:35 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
Mines doesnt do that, so you are doing something specific with yours that isnt in the normal nature of mirc, OR you have your OS installed in such a way as to behave like this, OR your actually still running the first copy of mirc OR ummmm i got it .... OR its a tuesday.

Re: behaviour complain #149098 14/05/06 02:14 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,009
raZOR Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,009
well whatever it is in OR it isnt nice and im tired of it...
for each mirc i copy i always get same shitty result
and if i want to set few scripts i must for each install new mirc...


IceCapped
Re: behaviour complain #149099 14/05/06 08:34 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
CtrlAltDel Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
I use several different scripts (in several different folders) and when I upgrade mirc I install it to a clean folder and copy the executable file to each folder instead of installing to each one. I have done this for several upgrades, and have never had the problems you are experiencing.
Basically, what I'm trying to say, is the mirc.exe does not open files in another folder unless you (or the .ini file in it's folder) tell it to.


I refuse to engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed person. wink
Re: behaviour complain #149100 14/05/06 08:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 464
O
OrionsBelt Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
O
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 464
Yeah, I also do it like that usually.
Same result never the problems like you describe.
I think CtrlAltDel is right, and there are scripts or whatever loading the wrong stuff.

Re: behaviour complain #149101 14/05/06 09:46 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,009
raZOR Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,009
then i guess i'm only one with this problem


IceCapped
Re: behaviour complain #149102 15/05/06 02:33 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
DaveC Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
One possable cause is you have an enviroment variable set thats causing it

Do a dos session and type SET and look for PATHEXT

Does yours look like this
PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH

or does it maybe have
PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH;.INI

If so do u have your original MIRC folder on the path?

Re: behaviour complain #149103 15/05/06 10:13 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,009
raZOR Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,009
i have 1st one without ini

"If so do u have your original MIRC folder on the path?"

dont understand you here


IceCapped