mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Font problem with a new PC (laptop) and new mIRC #148469 06/05/06 02:57 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 26
M
MRN Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
M
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 26
I'm still using mIRC 5.91 on my main PC, and in the editor there I got black boxes when typing in ctrl+b and such strange characters.

On my new PC, however, it's a stange "hook" which I don't like at all. Both are Fixedsys as font, but could it have something to do with UTF?

I want back those nice, black boxes! smile

(The black boxes is when Windows can't display that character, it seems.)

Re: Font problem with a new PC (laptop) and new mIRC #148470 06/05/06 04:50 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
G
genius_at_work Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
G
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
Does this happen when you use a version of mIRC that isn't horribly outdated?

Try getting a version from this decade here: http://www.mirc.com/get.html

-genius_at_work

Re: Font problem with a new PC and new mIRC #148471 07/05/06 05:27 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 26
M
MRN Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
M
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 26
mIRC 5.91 shows black boxes - just what I want.
mIRC 6.17 doesn't show black boxes - I want the black boxes.

Maybe two screenshots will help?

Re: Font problem with a new PC and new mIRC #148472 07/05/06 05:55 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
G
genius_at_work Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
G
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,741
My mIRC 6.17 shows the black boxes for characters that aren't displayable in the current font. Maybe it is a windows setting that lets you choose which character will represent those characters.

-genius_at_work

Re: Font problem with a new PC and new mIRC #148473 07/05/06 08:18 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 26
M
MRN Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
M
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 26
Yes, I'm thinking along those lines too. But how do I fix that?

Control Panel -> Font doesn't helped me much...

Any suggestions, please? smile

Re: Font problem with a new PC and new mIRC #148474 07/05/06 06:17 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 372
R
Rounin Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
R
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 372
It almost sounds like the problem's with your fixedsys font rather than with mIRC. Have you tried moving the font from your laptop and over to your other PC?

It could be caused by UTF-8 support, but probably only if you're using it.

Re: Font problem with a new PC (laptop) andblablab #148475 08/05/06 09:41 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Doqnach Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
there have been a few threads about this problem, one of which was mine.

the thing that's causing this is installing the Asian Languages support in windows. as soon as you install that you loose the nice square boxes entirely and they are replaced by other characters. worst thing of this is that the underline character doesn't even show.

with the new UTF-8 support it shows a white space but in 6.16 it didn't even show at all.

it's not a problem you can overcome I'm affraid :-[

I used to use the boxes as a character when scripting alot (for instance at a winamp script for the 'stop' button) but I can no longer use them :-[


it would be nice if khaled came up with a new idea on how to parse these characters to put something with more meaning instead of characters which depend on the settings you use...


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
Re: Font problem with a new PC (laptop) andblablab #148476 10/05/06 12:30 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 372
R
Rounin Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
R
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 372
Perhaps these characters didn't exist in all code pages to begin with though?

At any rate, I'm sure there are similar boxes in Unicode, if you're willing to rely on UTF-8 for your scripts to display correctly.