mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Topic Options
#14049 - 03/03/03 11:27 PM why is mirc so slow?
Brymo Offline
Self-satisified door

Registered: 03/03/03
Posts: 3
well i first thought it was lag.. it wasnt.. i shut down mirc, then loaded onto another diff. server then before... and it like, "sticks" is what it looks like.. i will scroll.. it will freeze then it will go down to were my mouse is.. this happens every few seconds... this just started today. any ideas?

Top
#14050 - 03/03/03 11:29 PM Re: why is mirc so slow?
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 11/12/02
Posts: 1527
Loc: Florida,USA
do u have a background image ..... and what version of mirc are u using ..... if ur using 6.02 u might wanna upgrade
_________________________
D3m0nnet.com

Top
#14051 - 03/03/03 11:31 PM Re: why is mirc so slow?
Brymo Offline
Self-satisified door

Registered: 03/03/03
Posts: 3
nope no background image.. and i am on version 6.03

Top
#14052 - 03/03/03 11:36 PM Re: why is mirc so slow?
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 11/12/02
Posts: 1527
Loc: Florida,USA
hmm do u have alot of scripts? and whens the last time u did any pc maintance ... like a defragment
_________________________
D3m0nnet.com

Top
#14053 - 03/03/03 11:39 PM Re: why is mirc so slow?
Brymo Offline
Self-satisified door

Registered: 03/03/03
Posts: 3
not too many scripts same as when it was fast.. and lol i just defragged last night lol...

Top
#14054 - 03/03/03 11:42 PM Re: why is mirc so slow?
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 11/12/02
Posts: 1527
Loc: Florida,USA
hmmm i only had mine do that with a background image and running 6.02 ...... ive heard of it fdoing it tho from others in 6.03 ..... but havent had it happen to me ..... do u have alot of hash tables or something else draining ur ststem memory?? ..... thats another reason it would do this as well
_________________________
D3m0nnet.com

Top
#14055 - 04/03/03 05:47 AM Re: why is mirc so slow?
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 09/12/02
Posts: 2984
Loc: Hill End, NSW, Australia
Do you have the function in Windows called "Smooth edges of screen fonts" turned on? If so then that might be the reason.
_________________________
Induced IRC
irc.induced.net

Top