mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Scripts editor / richedit #139726 17/01/06 11:40 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 22
M
myndzi Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
M
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 22
Way back when, I recall there was a mirc.ini entry you could alter to make the scripts editor use a richedit control. Somewhere along the line, richedit became the default. Is there a way to *disable* richedit in the same fashion? I've long since forgotten the ini entry, and I haven't been able to get very far with Search.

Re: Scripts editor / richedit #139727 18/01/06 11:04 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Doqnach Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
the script editor isn't richtext O_o

you must have been using some add on script...


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
Re: Scripts editor / richedit #139728 18/01/06 04:12 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,876
H
hixxy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,876
It is.



Courtesy of winspector.

Re: Scripts editor / richedit #139729 18/01/06 05:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 249
C
ClickHeRe Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
C
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 249
the editor uses a richedit control, probably thought and added for futur syntaxe highlighing which never made it in the editor.

Re: Scripts editor / richedit #139730 18/01/06 10:53 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 22
M
myndzi Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
M
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 22
It is a richedit control. I'm rather sure the primary reason is to better support large script files (> 30k), but I feel that the ctrl-arrow behavior for richtext controls is much more annoying than the 30k limit. For added fun, try ctrl-= in the editor for subscript text!

Anyway, try to know what you are talking about before throwing in your two cents, thanks.

Re: Scripts editor / richedit #139731 19/01/06 08:24 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Doqnach Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
never knew it was richtext since not everyone has a program to check that *G* or the desire to do so out of the blue hehehe

and I thought richtext could do bolds and colours too etc but those are catched to transform it into ctrl codes...

don't think it's strange for people not knowing really.


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
Re: Scripts editor / richedit #139732 20/01/06 12:42 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 22
M
myndzi Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
M
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 22
>never knew it was richtext since not everyone has a
>program to check that *G* or the desire to do so out of the
>blue hehehe

You don't need a program to check. Changes are noted in versions.txt

>and I thought richtext could do bolds and colours too etc but
>those are catched to transform it into ctrl codes...

It can, that doesn't mean it has to.

>don't think it's strange for people not knowing really. .

I don't. But I expect you to know what you are talking about if you try and correct me.

-m-