mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#138189 25/12/05 07:10 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 26
M
MRN Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
M
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 26
I have a @window which I made a menu for, which stats an alias. To problem is that this alias is under debugging, and I use much echo -s and var -s. In this @window, I sort results (/window -s) and later uses the results.

The problem is that all the debug messages appears in this window, where I start the alias.

A soution could be to set focus, active another window or switch window. The best would be to set focus to Status Window. How?

I tried //var -s %a $window(*status*,1) | window -a %a, but that didn't work. //var -s %a $window(*,1) | window -a %a happened to be the same window the window I wanted to avoid. Besides, that would screw up other windows.

Any suggestions?

#138190 25/12/05 07:57 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,245
M
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,245
Hard to understand what exactly you want, post your code and maybe we can help.

#138191 26/12/05 03:25 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
The solution is simple.

Remove the s switch from the var command, and use /echo -s -> %var, which will echo the value of the variable to your status window, instead of showing it in your custom window. What you are experiencing is perfectly natural, as the -s switch will echo it to the active window where you initiated the code from.

I mean, look at what you are asking, it would be incredibly silly to change the active window so that your var -s would be echoed to the status window, when you could just use echo -s, which is designed to echo something to the status window, not the active window (unless the active window is the status window of course)


Gone.
#138192 27/12/05 04:11 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
pffffft to everyone else, I wouldnt add a bunch of /ECHO -s, if i can just get away with adding a -s to VAR

Anyway, all yuou need to do is at the start oif the alias or where ever (during testing) add ///WINDOW -a "status window"

PS: i put three /// not becuase there needed, but becuase it make it easier to sweep your code looking for any commands you know yuou want to pull out before you finish with it.

#138193 27/12/05 04:27 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
Then he'll be back saying his "echo -a" doesnt display in his custom window anymore but in the status window, and ask how he can set focus to his custom window <snicker snicker>

Regardless, this was a weird request to say the least... just seems silly alltogether.


Gone.
#138194 28/12/05 01:00 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
Quote:
Then he'll be back saying his "echo -a" doesnt display in his custom window anymore but in the status window


mahahahaha your very likely right!

#138195 29/12/05 10:23 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 26
M
MRN Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
M
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 26
Quote:
Then he'll be back saying his "echo -a" doesnt display in his custom window anymore but in the status window, and ask how he can set focus to his custom window <snicker snicker>

That would be easier. Simply //echo @window.

The /window -a "status window" actually worked. The "'s is important.

Thanks for the answer, and for some funny replies in this thread smile


Link Copied to Clipboard