Print Thread
P
PillBox Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
P
Hi

I'm New at scripts and I wanted what I think is a simple task to be performed but got "complicated" answers from searching the Forum.

-ping a host (in the form of IP address)
-get info "up" or "down" and return it in mirc window

Sorry if this has been discussed but I can't understand any of the related topics I found, if someone could post the code and explain me how it works (kind of step by step) I'd appreciate it.

Cheers!

Last edited by PillBox; 21/12/05 03:39 AM.
H
Vogon poet
Vogon poet
H
http://www.mirc.net/projects.php?view_snippet=1083936635

Usage: $_ping(domain.tld)

Edit: After re-reading your post i saw that you mentioned that you were new, so ill explain further. $_ping(domain.tld) when used in a msg command will be replaced by the ping time. It uses the DOS command PING, and will return a value like time=123ms. So, if you wanted something like this...

<User> !ping google.com
<Bot> Google.com Reponded in 123ms

...Then you could use something like this:
Code:
on *:text:!ping*:#: { msg $chan $2 $iif($_ping($2) == $false,Did Not Respond,Responded in $remove($v1,time=)) }

If you just wanted a simple alias to use for yourself, something like this should work:
Code:
alias sping { echo -a $1 $iif($_ping($1) == $false,Did Not Respond,Responded in $remove($v1,time=)) }

Of couse, for either of these to work you need to download and add the script I linked above to your remotes.

Good luck.

Last edited by HAMM3R; 21/12/05 07:29 AM.
P
PillBox Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
P
Thank you very much HAMM3R, it works perfect! and thank you for spending the time to explain it.

By the way, is it possible to scan a specific port from that host and return if it's opened or closed? I'ts just icing on the cake, not mandatory, but would be neat =) (searched again the forum but returned no usefull info)

Cheers!