mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Topic Options
#137019 - 07/12/05 01:21 AM on join whois line
fast68 Offline
Pikka bird

Registered: 01/09/03
Posts: 19
Loc: IL
i have this line in my remotes

1:JOIN:#:/whois $nick

its works fine but
the problem with it is that it whoises me too

how do i make it not whois me

if nick=me halt

something something

thanks for anything
_________________________


Top
#137020 - 07/12/05 01:25 AM Re: on join whois line
SladeKraven Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 19/12/02
Posts: 3547
Loc: Kent, England
On !*:Join:#: whois $nick

The ! section in events means the event wont trigger on you, hope this helps. smile

-Andy

Top
#137021 - 07/12/05 01:25 AM Re: on join whois line
genius_at_work Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 08/10/05
Posts: 1741
haha.. im too slow.


Edited by genius_at_work (07/12/05 01:26 AM)

Top
#137022 - 07/12/05 01:26 AM Re: on join whois line
fast68 Offline
Pikka bird

Registered: 01/09/03
Posts: 19
Loc: IL
interesting

its that simple?

where canu read up on this ! vs. 1 and what its called ?



thanks


Edited by fast68 (07/12/05 01:27 AM)
_________________________


Top
#137023 - 07/12/05 01:41 AM Re: on join whois line
RusselB Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 03/08/04
Posts: 7252
Loc: Ontario, Canada
/help Access Levels

Top
#137024 - 07/12/05 04:52 AM Re: on join whois line
genius_at_work Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 08/10/05
Posts: 1741
If you are on multiple channels, and the same user joins several of them, your script will whois them for each channel they join. Some servers may consider many whois's on the same person in a short time to be a flood. To prevent flooding like that, you can use a script like this:

Code:
on *:CONNECT: unset %wdelay.*
on *:JOIN:#:{
  if ($($+(%,wdelay.,$cid,.,$nick),2) != 1) {
    set -u10 $+(%,wdelay.,$cid,.,$nick) 1
    whois $nick $nick
  }
}


This code will delay whois'ing the same person for 10 seconds.

-genius_at_work

Top
#137025 - 07/12/05 03:08 PM Re: on join whois line
fast68 Offline
Pikka bird

Registered: 01/09/03
Posts: 19
Loc: IL
ok there is a problem

changing 1 to ! does not work

now the line is dead it does not whois anyone ever

i didnt think it would so easy..


i was wondering about that

im telling you i have to leave it as 1 or * and have to add a line about if nick= me then halting,

or it wont work

thanks for anything further


Edited by fast68 (07/12/05 03:14 PM)
_________________________


Top
#137026 - 07/12/05 03:09 PM Re: on join whois line
fast68 Offline
Pikka bird

Registered: 01/09/03
Posts: 19
Loc: IL
Quote:
If you are on multiple channels, and the same user joins several of them, your script will whois them for each channel they join. Some servers may consider many whois's on the same person in a short time to be a flood. To prevent flooding like that, you can use a script like this:

Code:
on *:CONNECT: unset %wdelay.*
on *:JOIN:#:{
  if ($($+(%,wdelay.,$cid,.,$nick),2) != 1) {
    set -u10 $+(%,wdelay.,$cid,.,$nick) 1
    whois $nick $nick
  }
}


This code will delay whois'ing the same person for 10 seconds.

-genius_at_work



ok where do i add this one at in there
?

as a stand alone ?

or ?

when i copy and paste that into my remotes it pastes it as one single line all the way across the box

is this good or bad ?

or do i need to break it up into 7 lines like you are showing?

thanks


Edited by fast68 (07/12/05 03:12 PM)
_________________________


Top
#137027 - 07/12/05 05:10 PM Re: on join whois line
MikeChat Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 12/12/02
Posts: 1245
Loc: California, doooood
Quote:
ok there is a problem
changing 1 to ! does not work


He said !* not just !
you are right changing 1 to ! wont work, try
on !*:JOIN:#: { whois $nick }

also look into what 'g@w' was showing you

Top
#137028 - 07/12/05 05:18 PM Re: on join whois line
MikeChat Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 12/12/02
Posts: 1245
Loc: California, doooood
Code:
on *:CONNECT: unset %wdelay.*
on !*:JOIN:#:{
  if ($($+(%,wdelay.,$cid,.,$nick),2) != 1) {
    set -u10 $+(%,wdelay.,$cid,.,$nick) 1
    whois $nick $nick
  }
}

You mentioned it was "all in one line"
in this case no that is not good
repair it or retype it to look like the above copy.
Some browsers read the code copied from this msg board "wrong"
One solution I have seen mentioned is to copy from here, paste into word (wordpad?) clean it up and copy/paste into mIRC's editor from there.
Otherwise pates into the mIRC editor and sort it out manually there.
I guess it would depend on how much code is being pasted as to which way would be better.
I myself am lucky and don't seem to suffer this problem.

Top
#137029 - 08/12/05 01:25 AM Re: on join whois line
RusselB Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 03/08/04
Posts: 7252
Loc: Ontario, Canada
There's another post on this site, regarding the problems with taking code from the site and using it in mIRC. One of the options in that post, and the one that I use, is this link <a href="javascript:(function(){var%20c=document.all.tags('pre');for(var%20i=0;i<c.length;i++)with(c(i))void(outerHTML=outerHTML.replace(/\x3CBR\x3E/g,%20'\n'));try{void(document.styleSheets(0).addRule('PRE','color:darkviolet'))}catch(e){}})()" target="_blank">Fix Code Tags</a>

If you save that link to your favorites in your browser, then when you see code in the forum that you want, click that favorite, before copy & pasting the code. Please note that the code must be surrounded with Code tags to work.

Top
#137030 - 08/12/05 09:10 PM Re: on join whois line
Mike2005 Offline
Ameglian cow

Registered: 02/02/05
Posts: 43
Firefox seems to copy it fine.. Firefox is an awesome web browser, i highly recommend it... http://getfirefox.com
_________________________
Check out http://kalsiddon.com for games, videos & more! Good for when your bored in work or school!

Top