mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Hosting an irc bot? #136037 21/11/05 11:43 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
S
sar Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
S
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
I was wondering if it's possible to host an irc bot off a website (i'm not sure how it'd work).

If so, can anyone give me a link to a walkthrough or something?

:E

Re: Hosting an irc bot? #136038 22/11/05 12:53 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
I honestly don't think this would be possible given the current restrictions of the mIRC scripting language.

If you want to host an IRC bot, and you have a DSL (or better) connection, then it's easy enough for you to host it yourself, rather than have to hassle with a website. I myself host 4 IRC bots, and while things can lag a bit when the system is busy, that's mainly due to the fact that the other computer I have on my network is down at the moment, so I've only got one system running lots of things.

To host your own IRC bot, you'll need an additional installation of mIRC (to act as the bot), scripts (either downloaded or written yourself), and a decent internet connection. I don't recommend anyone try to run an IRC bot if they're using a dial-up connection.

If you have more detailed questions, give me a shout & I'll be happy to relay my own experiences with hosting a bot.

Re: Hosting an irc bot? #136039 22/11/05 01:11 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
S
sar Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
S
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Well, what I want is a bot that can be in my channel 24/7, and the ability to add scripts to it. See, I run a channel where you can join a server and play a match. I need the 24/7 bot to add people to the game. I have the scripts and everything, but I can't keep my own bot up 24/7.

:>

Re: Hosting an irc bot? #136040 22/11/05 01:18 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Why can't you keep a bot up 24/7? All you need is a DSL (or better) connection. As I said, I've got 4 bots running and they're all up 24/7 (with the exception of if I need to reboot my system).

Re: Hosting an irc bot? #136041 22/11/05 02:22 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
S
sar Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
S
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Because I have power outtages sometimes, dumb Florida. I sometimes go away for days too, and I like to keep my computer off. ;(

Re: Hosting an irc bot? #136042 22/11/05 03:42 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
OK...I believe, in that case your best bet would be to go with a BNC. I've never used it, but I do seem to recall seeing it mentioned in some other posts like this. Try searching the forum for the term BNC (and don't forget to expand the time frame for the search), and see if any of that helps. Aside from that I'm afraid I have no alternative suggestions.