Sometimes when you disconnect you leave behind a 'ghost'. This has nothing to do with mIRC. Some networks have Services where you can register your nickname and then when you hav ea ghost you can kill the ghost off the server, and then have your nickname. Ask in the network's #Help channel to see if they have services.
Otherwise, it's just a matter of improving your Internet connection and waiting