#130861 23/09/05 01:39 AM
A
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
A
Hey im kinda new to mirc scripting and i need help with this

Code:
($regex(%data,/^(.+)(?:\(.+\))?\((\d+)\): (.+)$/U))  

can somebody explain me in simple details what this regex means because looks jiberish to me i also read plenty of tutorials about it and still dont understand it thanks in advance

#130862 23/09/05 06:42 AM
H
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
H
Since there are a few complex concepts in that expression my best advice to you is to read a decent tutorial. http://www.regular-expressions.info has a good one.

#130863 23/09/05 08:47 AM
Fjord artisan
Fjord artisan
The ^ and $ to the start and end of the expression. They match the start and end of the string the expression is applied to respectively.

(.+) - The period/dot represents any 1 charactor, the plus sign is a quantifier which basically matches any number of repetitions of the previous charactor. In this case a period is the previos charactor, so it will match 1 or more of any combination of charactors.

Basic outcome: string of one or more in length. eg abcd or ac17e etc

(?:\(.+\))? - This contains a few different things, firstly the ?: (question mark followed by semi colon) tells the regex engine not to back reference that section (backreferencing can be used to retrieve or substitute the specific string that portion of the regular expression matched). The question mark outside of the braces tells the engine that this portion of the expression is optional, so it doesn't need to be matched, but will be if it exists. The \ (backslash) in a regular expression is an escape charactor, since the () braces are special charactors in the regex syntax, escaping them mean you literally want to match a ( and ) charactor.

Basic outcome, string of one of more in length surrounded by circular braces. eg (abcd) or (ac17e) etc