mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Unable To Resolve Server #130445 18/09/05 02:34 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
B
benny999 Offline OP
Mostly harmless
OP Offline
Mostly harmless
B
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
alright I was using this irc room earlier, logged off for an hour, tried to log back in an got that error...I didnt change any of the channel info or anything and I know its still up from talking to other people there...dont know if this'll help but heres the info

DarkMyst.txt

#tsse

thanks

Re: Unable To Resolve Server #130446 18/09/05 05:27 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
It doesn't matter what room you were in earlier, if you can't resolve the network server. You have to resolve the network server in order to connect to the network, which, in turn, is needed to connect to the room.
Since you say that you are able to talk to other people that are in that room, find out what the server address that they are connecting to is, then try connecting to that address using /server <server address> replacing <server address> with the actual address.

Re: Unable To Resolve Server #130447 19/09/05 01:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Btw, you put DarkMyst.txt for info.... A .txt file has nothing to do with connecting. If you're trying to use /server darkmyst.txt or something like that, it isn't going to work.

I think you need to get the real server address... I think you're using an incorrect one.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Unable To Resolve Server #130448 19/09/05 03:58 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
G
GodHatesFun Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
I am having the exact same problem with RealmWorlm "Karaoke-Realm" all i get is unable to resolve server and I have never had a problem before last evening... any suggestions? I am going through MiRc withdrawl<lol>

Re: Unable To Resolve Server #130449 19/09/05 04:04 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Maybe the server is offline?

How are you trying to connect? If you're typing it on the command line, what are you typing?


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Unable To Resolve Server #130450 19/09/05 04:09 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
G
GodHatesFun Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
I never have to type there I just click the "lightening Bolt" to connect

Re: Unable To Resolve Server #130451 19/09/05 04:45 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Ok, so what is it trying to connect to?

Copy/paste that information. Possibly, you clicked a link in your browser or in a channel or something that changed the "current" server name to something invalid.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Unable To Resolve Server #130452 19/09/05 05:24 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
G
GodHatesFun Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
RealmWorld (6669) is what it id trying to connect to

Top of windows says " mIRC <<ExCurSion v9.5>><<Un GodHates F >><<Status: Offline >> - http;//excursion.humor.org

Inner window says this in the address bar Status: GodHatesFub connecting to RealmWorld (6669)

Then I get the "Unable to resolve server" error

Re: Unable To Resolve Server #130453 19/09/05 05:25 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
G
GodHatesFun Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
The Status should say GodHatesFun not Fub <lol>

That was my typo not an error in the config.

Re: Unable To Resolve Server #130454 19/09/05 06:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Actually, I'm looking for something like this:

Quote:

-
* Connecting to irc.irchighway.net (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Software caused connection abort)
-


That will allow us to see exactly what address is given to connect to and we can check that for errors and test the address ourselves as well.

If it doesn't give you that information due to using Excursion, then type /remote off and try connecting and see what you see. Then, you can type /remote on to turn your scripts back on. Note that doing this may require you to close and reopen mIRC after turning them on, for your script to function properly.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Unable To Resolve Server #130455 20/09/05 03:23 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
G
GodHatesFun Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
RealmWorld (6669) is what it id trying to connect to

Re: Unable To Resolve Server #130456 20/09/05 12:39 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
RealmWorld by itself without anything else is invalid. Try something like irc.realmworld.com or irc.realmworld.org or similar. Or, google the network name and see what the server addresses are.

To connect with an address: /server irc.yourserver.net


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net