mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Topic Options
#130261 - 15/09/05 04:35 AM Space ASCII Character?
Zeusbwr Offline
Vogon poet

Registered: 30/03/04
Posts: 111
I need an ASCII character that holds a space value in mIRC and also holds a normal value.. or somethin.

In otherwords, if you took a space " ", multiplied it ten times, and printed it, only 1 space comes out.

Can anyone give me a character or way of formatting text in a columnized fashion? Wish mirc had tab's in its code.. ;/

But ya, in the end, how could you print the text on screen to look as this does,

"Test SecondWord"

(in a quick, small, fast manor ofcourse.)

*edit* wow, even this forum doesn't like a ton of spaces. Either way, how would you code it so mirc seperates two words by a large amount.


Edited by Zeusbwr (15/09/05 04:52 AM)

Top
#130262 - 15/09/05 04:59 AM Re: Space ASCII Character?
SladeKraven Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 19/12/02
Posts: 3547
Loc: Kent, England
$chr(9) is tab. smile

//window -Cl @Tab 1 1 200 52 | aline @Tab Some $chr(9) silly $chr(9) tab

-Andy

Top
#130263 - 15/09/05 05:19 AM Re: Space ASCII Character?
MikeChat Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 12/12/02
Posts: 1245
Loc: California, doooood
several problems come up with this
1) you can use $chr(160) in many fonts, it is a "non priniting character" like $chr(32) "plain space" but mIRC doesn't truncate repeated instances in a string.
2) you can play a text file to a channel and spaces will stay, provided that you do not need to parse commands in the lines, then mIRC will once again remove multiple spaces, the use of $chr(160) can be used as above.
3) tabs will work in @windows but I do not think they will work in channel/query

Top
#130264 - 15/09/05 07:11 AM Re: Space ASCII Character?
Zeusbwr Offline
Vogon poet

Registered: 30/03/04
Posts: 111
well oddly enough i cant get character 9 to work.. hmm..

I'll try 160.

All i remember is the one i used to use would stop font mods, such as colors, bold, etc. So after the spaces you'd have to redefine all the modifiers, color, bold, etc.

And oddly enough 160 is returned as a question mark? wtf? Thats part of my conversion (long story my messages dont start in mirc), but i dunno.. there both ascii..

*edit*
For now i'll just use a loop to throw a space with a bold character. It works, and i just cant use bold lol.


Edited by Zeusbwr (15/09/05 07:32 AM)

Top
#130265 - 15/09/05 09:32 AM Re: Space ASCII Character?
Om3n Offline
Fjord artisan

Registered: 06/07/03
Posts: 655
There is some sample code i posted of how to achive this, as well as a link to an already made script, Here
_________________________
"Allen is having a small problem and needs help adjusting his attitude" - Flutterby

Top
#130266 - 15/09/05 12:18 PM Re: Space ASCII Character?
Mpdreamz Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 27/04/04
Posts: 759
Loc: Arnhem, The Netherlands
160 is such an ugly hack and if your planning on sending text with multiple spaces annoying for people that use a font where 160 is not a space.
use
http://www.mirc.net/projects.php?go=1117627884&get_desc=1
instead
_________________________
$maybe

Top
#130267 - 15/09/05 01:11 PM Re: Space ASCII Character?
DaveC Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 26/09/03
Posts: 4230
Quote:
I need an ASCII character that holds a space value in mIRC and also holds a normal value..


<space><ctrl-b><ctrl-b><space><ctrl-b><ctrl-b> etc etc (double bold)
<space><ctrl-r><ctrl-r><space><ctrl-r><ctrl-r> etc etc (double reverse)
<space><ctrl-u><ctrl-u><space><ctrl-u><ctrl-u> etc etc (double underline)

The character you were mentioning is <ctrl-o> this can be used as <space><ctrl-o><space><ctrl-o> etc however as you mentioned all BURK codes are lost (ctrl-o is change to ordinary text)

Top