mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#130261 15/09/05 03:35 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 111
Z
Zeusbwr Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Z
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 111
I need an ASCII character that holds a space value in mIRC and also holds a normal value.. or somethin.

In otherwords, if you took a space " ", multiplied it ten times, and printed it, only 1 space comes out.

Can anyone give me a character or way of formatting text in a columnized fashion? Wish mirc had tab's in its code.. ;/

But ya, in the end, how could you print the text on screen to look as this does,

"Test SecondWord"

(in a quick, small, fast manor ofcourse.)

*edit* wow, even this forum doesn't like a ton of spaces. Either way, how would you code it so mirc seperates two words by a large amount.

Last edited by Zeusbwr; 15/09/05 03:52 AM.
#130262 15/09/05 03:59 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
$chr(9) is tab. smile

//window -Cl @Tab 1 1 200 52 | aline @Tab Some $chr(9) silly $chr(9) tab

-Andy

#130263 15/09/05 04:19 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,245
M
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,245
several problems come up with this
1) you can use $chr(160) in many fonts, it is a "non priniting character" like $chr(32) "plain space" but mIRC doesn't truncate repeated instances in a string.
2) you can play a text file to a channel and spaces will stay, provided that you do not need to parse commands in the lines, then mIRC will once again remove multiple spaces, the use of $chr(160) can be used as above.
3) tabs will work in @windows but I do not think they will work in channel/query

#130264 15/09/05 06:11 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 111
Z
Zeusbwr Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
Z
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 111
well oddly enough i cant get character 9 to work.. hmm..

I'll try 160.

All i remember is the one i used to use would stop font mods, such as colors, bold, etc. So after the spaces you'd have to redefine all the modifiers, color, bold, etc.

And oddly enough 160 is returned as a question mark? wtf? Thats part of my conversion (long story my messages dont start in mirc), but i dunno.. there both ascii..

*edit*
For now i'll just use a loop to throw a space with a bold character. It works, and i just cant use bold lol.

Last edited by Zeusbwr; 15/09/05 06:32 AM.
#130265 15/09/05 08:32 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 655
There is some sample code i posted of how to achive this, as well as a link to an already made script, Here


"Allen is having a small problem and needs help adjusting his attitude" - Flutterby
#130266 15/09/05 11:18 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 759
M
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 759
160 is such an ugly hack and if your planning on sending text with multiple spaces annoying for people that use a font where 160 is not a space.
use
http://www.mirc.net/projects.php?go=1117627884&get_desc=1
instead


$maybe
#130267 15/09/05 12:11 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
Quote:
I need an ASCII character that holds a space value in mIRC and also holds a normal value..


<space><ctrl-b><ctrl-b><space><ctrl-b><ctrl-b> etc etc (double bold)
<space><ctrl-r><ctrl-r><space><ctrl-r><ctrl-r> etc etc (double reverse)
<space><ctrl-u><ctrl-u><space><ctrl-u><ctrl-u> etc etc (double underline)

The character you were mentioning is <ctrl-o> this can be used as <space><ctrl-o><space><ctrl-o> etc however as you mentioned all BURK codes are lost (ctrl-o is change to ordinary text)


Link Copied to Clipboard