mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
D
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
D
hi guys im new to this....but i have a chatroom on dalnet but i wont say its name.And i was just wondering whats the secret to a good chatroom??

S
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
S
In an ideal world a half decent chatroom would use some of the following rules.

[*] Make sure there's no excessive capitals as it's considered shouting.
[*] If it's a room for under 18's then make sure by a certain time they're asked to leave incase there's profanity. Or just make sure there's no bad language at all.
[*]Make sure there's no excessive chat (flooding).
[*]Treat each user equally and not unfairly, that way you'll get regulars.
[*]Pick your operators wisely, we don't want to have ban scripts going off at all times do we?
[*]You may want to use a trivia bot in your channel for fun, which is always a good thing.

-Andy

D
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
D
well its all good if you can get the people into the chatroom lol and i dont know where to get a triva bot frown

S
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
S
One thing you don't want to do is go around in others channels advertising yours. smile

Get TrivBot.

-Andy

D
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
D
oh i learnd that lol but is so hard to get people to join if anybody has anymore ideas please tell me !! smile

Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
To get more visitors:
If you search around online, you can find sites that allow posting your channel information to help get visitors. You can also include channel information in your signature on the majority of forums. However, make sure that you don't just stick info like that in your signature, then post once or twice with useless posts just so your sig is seen. Instead, find boards that you like and can be active on. Not only will that keep your message from being removed for spamming/advertising, but it gets your name out even more because you post more.