|
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 106
Vogon poet
|
OP
Vogon poet
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 106 |
could a script be made where i log on windows xp and then mirc starts up atuomaticly?
and thats the way the scout leader burns
|
|
|
|
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138 |
A mIRC script can't know when you login to Windows since mIRC isn't running when you login to Windows.
Just make a link to mirc.exe in the Startup folder of your Start Menu or alternately create a registry entry in either: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run or HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
|
|
|
|
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327 |
First of all put qwerty's $regwrite in remote. alias regwrite {
var %a = regwrite $+ $ticks
.comopen %a WScript.Shell
if $comerr { return 0 }
if d isin $3 { var %3 = REG_DWORD, %type = ui4 }
elseif b isin $3 { var %3 = REG_BINARY, %type = ui4 }
else { var %3 = REG_SZ, %type = bstr }
if $com(%a,RegWrite,3,bstr,$1,%type,$2,bstr,%3) {
.comclose %a
return 1
}
.comclose %a
return 0
}
Now type: //.echo -q $regwrite(HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\mIRC\,$+(",$mircexe,"),s)
New username: hixxy
|
|
|
|
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Fjord artisan
|
Fjord artisan
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509 |
Would that work for other os's? Do you have one for Win98 and 2000?
|
|
|
|
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,327 |
I don't know, you'll have to try it.
New username: hixxy
|
|
|
|
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994 |
Would that work for other os's? Do you have one for Win98 and 2000? a shortcut to the mirc.exe in the startup folder?
|
|
|
|
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230 |
thats ok for 2k and 98 HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
|
|
|
|
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330 |
Would that work for other os's? Do you have one for Win98 and 2000? a shortcut to the mirc.exe in the startup folder? Heh... that's what I was thinking. Why suggest someone go through the registry? It's easier to just set it up in the startup folder.
Invision Support #Invision on irc.irchighway.net
|
|
|
|
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230 |
Problem is in locating the the startup folder, since it can be anywhere.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019 |
Both the locating of the startup folder and the writing of shortcuts can be done with COM, on all OS'es from Windows 98 and onwards.
Gone.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,230 |
And that is starting to get harder than just writting to the reg, thats all im meaning.
Not that its a bad thing, but you can also stop the startup group running. (hold shift down i thinks)
Last edited by DaveC; 11/07/05 05:42 PM.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,019 |
Nah, it's fairly easy, I've done it before But anyway it's not so important...the OP has been helped, let's move along.
Gone.
|
|
|
|
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 206
Fjord artisan
|
Fjord artisan
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 206 |
Problem is in locating the the startup folder, since it can be anywhere. Please define "anywhere", because on all of the machines that I have looked in, the Startup folder for individual accounts has always been in the same place. "C:\Documents and Settings\[User name]]Start Menu\Programs\Startup" and if it is not there, then it will be somewhere very close. In addition - this is a "do once" issue:" The member just creates a shortcut in there, no need for fancy scripting , no need for "dangerous" registry edits. A simple task that even I can do without breaking anything! Cheers, DK
Darwin_Koala
Junior Brat, In-no-cent(r)(tm) and original source of DK-itis!
|
|
|
|
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
|
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330 |
True. Yes, the startup folder can be in more than one place (each user account, plus all users). However, you only need to place a link in your startup folder, or in the all users one if you want it to start up for every account.
Invision Support #Invision on irc.irchighway.net
|
|
|
|
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 106
Vogon poet
|
OP
Vogon poet
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 106 |
ok so i'm an OP hey? i'm gonna like this lol jk
anyways could someone just give me the script i've been away got back and flooded with e-mails and server crashed and lots of [censored] so i'm too busy too make it myself
and thats the way the scout leader burns
|
|
|
|
|