Print Thread
#124732 10/07/05 12:31 PM
K
KerryR Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
K
Hi, I am a total newbie in the IRC world and am just reading everything I can at the moment to learn more about it.

I would really appreciate feedback on this question from any of you with experience in this area; for a simple chat function on a website likely to be used by non-techy types, is there any advantage in using IRC rather than a simple phpchat program already available to install at the click of a button with cPanel?

I look forward to hearing your comments, thanks in advance.

K smile

#124733 10/07/05 01:02 PM
R
Fjord artisan
Fjord artisan
R
IRC is free?

At any rate, if you know how to embed a Java applet in your web pages and how to configure said applets, you could always create a channel somewhere on IRC and then use PJIRC to allow people to connect to it effortlessly via your web page.

#124734 10/07/05 01:14 PM
K
KerryR Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
K
Hi Rounin, thanks for that.

So, once the setup is done and there is a simple link from the website for either php or IRC, would you say that using IRC chat is not really very different from phpchat - from a user-end perspective?

K smile

#124735 10/07/05 07:56 PM
M
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
M
Not that I've knowingly looked at PHP chat, but looking at Google images of it, it doesn't look much different than a java IRC chat client. That's most likely because IRC is probably the "engine" behind it!

I would suggest that over irc:// links though, as they require an IRC client to be set up 'n stuff.

Regards,

Mentality/Chris
#124736 11/07/05 02:39 AM
S
Pikka bird
Pikka bird
S