mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Performance degradation in mIRC (two issues here) #121397 27/05/05 06:19 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 35
C
Chris233 Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 35
First, recently I've noticed that mIRC is sluggish closing the options dialog and the scripts editor. It can take upwards of 10 seconds just to close the options dialog. mIRC does not respond, and CPU usage is at 100% during this time. What would cause this? This happens in both explorer and bb4win (see next issue).

Second, mIRC gets kind of sluggish when I'm using the blackbox for windows (bb4win) shell. To compare, I will have my windows in mIRC maximized, and hold down ctrl+n to scroll through them. In explorer (windows default shell), redrawing is instantaneous; there is no lag. In bb4win, there is a noticeable delay before the new channel is redrawn. Any ideas what might cause this? (I asked at the bb4win forums.. no ideas there).

I am using XP Pro SP1, mIRC 6.16.

Thanks.

Re: Performance degradation in mIRC (two issues here) #121398 27/05/05 07:57 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 74
D
defiant Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
D
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 74
either you have not enough memory, so each 'refresh' of your screen has to be 'redone'. Or some other program(s) is/are eating all CPU.

About your second thing, dont have a clue

Re: Performance degradation in mIRC (two issues here) #121399 27/05/05 08:04 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1
C
Chantha725296 Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
C
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1
hello there i don't know y i can not make chart with other people? can u help me? pls i need urgent

Re: Performance degradation in mIRC (two issues here) #121400 27/05/05 08:19 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 74
D
defiant Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
D
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 74
Post your mIRC error msg.. then we can help you.. still not nice to hijack topics for this n e way

Re: Performance degradation in mIRC (two issues he #121401 27/05/05 12:23 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
S
SladeKraven Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,547
You'll find alot of people do this because they don't know how to start a thread, I constantly get PM'd on here on how to start their own thread.

-Andy

Re: Performance degradation in mIRC (two issues here) #121402 27/05/05 07:25 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 35
C
Chris233 Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 35
I have a gig of RAM, and I'm never over 60% use of it. ANd I guess I didn't specify.. *mIRC* is using 100% CPU.

My second issue has been made moot.. since bb4win is no longer in development, I switched to bbLean (which is based on bb4win), and that behavior is no longer evident.

Re: Performance degradation in mIRC (two issues here) #121403 02/06/05 04:08 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 35
C
Chris233 Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 35
this is getting rather annoying..

Re: Performance degradation in mIRC (two issues here) #121404 04/06/05 02:54 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 35
C
Chris233 Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 35
ok, I can't stand it when it takes 20 full seconds just to close the options dialog. What is going on?

Re: Performance degradation in mIRC (two issues here) #121405 04/06/05 03:50 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
I can't say for sure, but it sounds to me like you might have an infection. Make sure your anti-virus files are up to date, then reboot in safe mode, and do a full system check. Likewise with a spyware utility. I know what I like, but everyone has their own preferences. Also might be a good idea to upgrade your Windows version from XP SP1 to XP SP2, along with the various updates that have been released for that. You can download that from Microsoft's site, or have them mail you a CD.

Re: Performance degradation in mIRC (two issues here) #121406 04/06/05 04:08 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 35
C
Chris233 Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 35
..it's my virus *scanner*. I should have guessed. Now to muck around with the settings..

Turning off "scan documents" in AVG Free's Control Center (Resident Shield part) causes instantaneous closing of the dialogs.