mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Re: enable identd #158
14/09/05 05:55 PM
14/09/05 05:55 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
MA, USA
Riamus2 Offline
Planetary brain
Riamus2  Offline
Planetary brain

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
MA, USA
As I said earlier, it could simply be a netsplit.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: enable identd #159
14/09/05 08:16 PM
14/09/05 08:16 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
S
spookster810 Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
spookster810  Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
S

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Maybe... last question, I swera: is a netsplit definitive?

Thanks once and again.

Re: enable identd #160
15/09/05 12:45 PM
15/09/05 12:45 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
MA, USA
Riamus2 Offline
Planetary brain
Riamus2  Offline
Planetary brain

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
MA, USA
Definitive?


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: enable identd #161
16/09/05 01:57 PM
16/09/05 01:57 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
S
spookster810 Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
spookster810  Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
S

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Mmmhh... Spell? I mean if that situation can change... as in something like "unsplit"?? Sorry about my english wink

Re: enable identd #162
16/09/05 03:21 PM
16/09/05 03:21 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
MA, USA
Riamus2 Offline
Planetary brain
Riamus2  Offline
Planetary brain

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
MA, USA
Yes, a netsplit is almost always temporary. Of course, "temporary" can be anything from seconds to hours or more. Most last under 15 minutes.

You can get around a netsplit by just connecting to a server that is on the other "side" of the split.

Example:

5 servers are in a network and you connect to server #5. If a netsplit happens to #5, then everyone connected to #5 will no longer be able to see anyone connected to servers #1-4, and those on servers #1-4 won't see anyone on server #5. If you then go and connect to one of the #1-4 servers, you'd see everyone on those servers, but not on #5.

Depending on who is connected on each server and what channels they are in, you can very easily end up being the only person in a specific channel on server #5, so it will appear empty.

Of course, that's a basic example... netsplits can take out more than one server at a time, and you can even have multiple different splits, so that there are more than 2 sides to the split.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: enable identd #163
16/09/05 07:37 PM
16/09/05 07:37 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
S
spookster810 Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
spookster810  Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
S

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Thanks, perfectly clear now smile

Re: enable identd [Re: spookster810] #197020
27/03/08 06:55 AM
27/03/08 06:55 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
H
hughanew080 Offline
Bowl of petunias
hughanew080  Offline
Bowl of petunias
H

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
I am having ident problems, too, but the things being discussed on this forum are greek to me. Is there someone who can call me?

Re: enable identd [Re: hughanew080] #225023
24/08/10 01:12 AM
24/08/10 01:12 AM
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
S
spider633 Offline
Mostly harmless
spider633  Offline
Mostly harmless
S

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
i am having trouble with my Ident..

it used to work fine, but now it doesnt...i dont know why..here is what i get now

* Connecting to irc.link-net.org (+7000)
-
-irc.link-net.org- *** Looking up your hostname...
-
-irc.link-net.org- *** Checking Ident
-
-irc.link-net.org- *** Couldn't look up your hostname
-
-irc.link-net.org- *** No Ident response
-
Ping? Pong!

i have done all the port fowarding steps, like i have said it used to work...can any one help me?? thanks

Re: enable identd [Re: spider633] #236274
15/02/12 08:26 PM
15/02/12 08:26 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
I
izzie Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
izzie  Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
I

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
I have a similar issue. Most times when I connect (via Mirc) to Undernet, I get this:

[INFO] Connecting to [url=irc://undernet/][url=irc://undernet/][url=irc://undernet/]irc://undernet/[/url][/url][/url] ([url=irc://irc.undernet.org/][url=irc://irc.undernet.org/][url=irc://irc.undernet.org/]irc://irc.undernet.org/[/url][/url][/url]) [Cancel]
=== *** Looking up your hostname
=== *** Checking Ident
=== *** Found your hostname
=== ddgaucho Register first.
=== *** No ident response
=== *** Ident broken or disabled, to continue to connect you must type /QUOTE PASS 10783

after I type the necessary stuff, I connect just fine. It just annoys me. What am I doing wrong? This has happened with all versions of Mirc and Chatzilla.

Re: enable identd [Re: izzie] #236288
16/02/12 12:15 PM
16/02/12 12:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
MA, USA
Riamus2 Offline
Planetary brain
Riamus2  Offline
Planetary brain

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
MA, USA
As it says, the server isn't receiving an identd response, so that specific network requires you to use /quote to avoid spam bots. Make sure that identd is enabled in mIRC and also make sure that port 113 is not blocked in any firewall or router that you're using. This is explained in the first post of this thread.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: enable identd [Re: ParaBrat] #240776
26/02/13 05:04 AM
26/02/13 05:04 AM
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
R
Rainman_mark Offline
Self-satisified door
Rainman_mark  Offline
Self-satisified door
R

Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
what do i put in "Trigger Start Port" box and "Trigger End port" and Public port ?


Time orbit we just one solitude of the subway.
Re: enable identd [Re: Rainman_mark] #240782
26/02/13 04:57 PM
26/02/13 04:57 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 311
K
KindOne Offline
Fjord artisan
KindOne  Offline
Fjord artisan
K

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 311
For my router/modem combo, I do:

Start port: 113
End port: 113


irc.swiftirc.net #msl (mIRC Scripting Language)
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3