mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Unable to resolve server: please help me #113223 02/03/05 07:56 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
P
pethameni Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Connecting to amsterdam.nl.eu.undernet.org (6662)
-
* Unable to resolve server
-
* Connect retry #1 graz2.at.eu.undernet.org (6669)
-
* Unable to resolve server
-
* Connect retry #2 graz.at.eu.undernet.org (7000)
-
* Unable to resolve server


i am so pissed off.can anybody help me please?

Re: Unable to resolve server: please help me #113224 03/03/05 12:41 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
CtrlAltDel Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
I am currently connected to Amsterdam2.NL.EU.undernet.org:6667 if that helps


I refuse to engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed person. wink
Re: Unable to resolve server: please help me #113225 03/03/05 01:26 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
P
pethameni Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
thanks for replying .unfortunately it did not work.|Has anybody else please got something else to suggest.It's really frustrating.

Can somebody help with the settings in the local info section?


On connect always get local host or ip address? what do i choose guys?

Look up method : server or normal?

Re: Unable to resolve server: please help me #113226 03/03/05 01:52 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,831
I
Iori Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
I
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,831
That looks like a firewall problem. Have you allowed mIRC access through your fiewall?

Re: Unable to resolve server: please help me #113227 03/03/05 11:53 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
P
pethameni Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Quote:
That looks like a firewall problem. Have you allowed mIRC access through your fiewall?


I haven't got a frigging firewall!!!
other programs like kazaa are working fine!

Re: Unable to resolve server: please help me #113228 05/03/05 10:30 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
CtrlAltDel Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
Quote:
Quote:
That looks like a firewall problem. Have you allowed mIRC access through your fiewall?


I haven't got a frigging firewall!!!
other programs like kazaa are working fine!


Lighten up! With that 'tude yer sporting you're lucky anyone responds to you at all!
Are you using Windows XP? What kind of internet connection?

Re: Unable to resolve server: please help me #113229 05/03/05 01:34 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
P
pethameni Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Quote:
Lighten up! With that 'tude yer sporting you're lucky anyone responds to you at all!
Are you using Windows XP? What kind of internet connection?


That was not my intention!! I am very grateful to all the people that bothered to read my thread and offer me a piece of advice even if that advice did not work in the end smile
If somebody thinks that my attitude was not appropriate then i sincerely apologise.
i am just very frustrated.It had been working fiine for a year now.I was away on holidays for two weeks.I came back and it's not working.I am using windows XP, i am sharing an Aol connection 2mb/sec with my roomate.Thank you!

Re: Unable to resolve server: please help me #113230 06/03/05 04:28 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
CtrlAltDel Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
Windows XP has a firewall built in, and if you're using a router to share the connection it most likely has a firewall built in that you don't know about. Also, a high-speed AOL connection has to have a dsl (or other) modem, which also might have a firewall in it.

Check Here for help with XP's firewall.

You might also check Here and Here for other connection problems.


I refuse to engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed person. wink
Re: Unable to resolve server: please help me #113231 07/03/05 10:20 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
P
pethameni Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Quote:
Windows XP has a firewall built in, and if you're using a router to share the connection it most likely has a firewall built in that you don't know about. Also, a high-speed AOL connection has to have a dsl (or other) modem, which also might have a firewall in it.

Check Here for help with XP's firewall.

You might also check Here and Here for other connection problems.



Thank you so much!!!!