mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#109422 29/01/05 03:26 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
R
ryanc Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
R
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
I have a simple bartender script that picks a randon drink for users in my chat the Problems is my MIRC keeps geting disconnected after a certain amount of idel time. Can i set something to keep mirc alive? confused

#109423 29/01/05 06:17 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
U
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
U
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
It really depends on *why* your connection drops.

If the server is kicking you due to idle, set a timer to msg the channel on a shorter interval than the server allows for idle.

If its your internet connection itself, there are no easy answers.

#109424 29/01/05 07:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
R
ryanc Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
R
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Quote:
It really depends on *why* your connection drops.

If the server is kicking you due to idle, set a timer to msg the channel on a shorter interval than the server allows for idle.

If its your internet connection itself, there are no easy answers.


It is my server chat that disconnects me not my internet connection.

Thanks!

I am trying /timer69 0 300 #foolsonice /msg <anyone need anything?>

it says timer activated but never trypes the message.

Also i would like to get this to start in a remote .mrc file.

I am a n00b jsut learing by looking at other scripts i fouind.

Thanks

#109425 29/01/05 07:50 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
U
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
U
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
/.timer69 0 300 /msg #foolsonice <message goes here>

if you want to add it to remotes, paste the line into notepad and save as message.mrc (name it whatever you like).

The simply use the /load command, or open your scripts editor and load it through that.

Last edited by uicnren; 29/01/05 07:53 PM.
#109426 29/01/05 07:59 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
R
ryanc Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
R
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Quote:
/.timer69 0 300 /msg #foolsonice <message goes here>

if you want to add it to remotes, paste the line into notepad and save as message.mrc (name it whatever you like).

The simply use the /load command, or open your scripts editor and load it through that.


this is strange. I am using everywherechat.com to have the chat on my page it seems that the timer command is not known. is that possabe? or am i doing something wrong?

Last edited by ryanc; 29/01/05 08:03 PM.
#109427 29/01/05 08:07 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 332
R
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
R
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 332
i have experienced the same problem
you will obviously have to tinker but what i arranged was for my bot to say a random line from a txt file every 30 minutes
it begins on start and ends on close let me fetch you the code.
Code:
 
on *:start:{ 
  //.timer 0 1800 msg #channel $!read(babble.txt,n)
} 

just make a txt file named babble and you set
as you can see you do have to specify channel if u want you can make a global var and a text command or popup to change it and insert that in there rather than your speicied channel, it makes little difference


The Kodokan will move you, one way or another.
#109428 29/01/05 08:17 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
R
ryanc Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
R
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Quote:
i have experienced the same problem
you will obviously have to tinker but what i arranged was for my bot to say a random line from a txt file every 30 minutes
it begins on start and ends on close let me fetch you the code.
Code:
 
on *:start:{ 
  //.timer 0 1800 msg #channel $!read(babble.txt,n)
} 

just make a txt file named babble and you set
as you can see you do have to specify channel if u want you can make a global var and a text command or popup to change it and insert that in there rather than your speicied channel, it makes little difference



A W E S O M E !!!

It worked!! now lets hope it keeps me from gettitng disconnected!!

thank you both for all your help!! It is much appreciated.

#109429 30/01/05 01:52 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 206
D
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 206
I know others have answered with something similar .. but this what I use - less intrusive!

/timerAlive 0 500 /msg $me This is to stay alive at $!time


The rest of the channel doesn't see me babbling on about anything and everything! You could also use "/notice" instead of "/msg"; depending on how your irc network handles it - for your display convenience only!

Cheers,

DK

(ps: this goes in the connect or perform section)

Quote:
Quote:
i have experienced the same problem
you will obviously have to tinker but what i arranged was for my bot to say a random line from a txt file every 30 minutes
it begins on start and ends on close let me fetch you the code.
Code:
 
on *:start:{ 
  //.timer 0 1800 msg #channel $!read(babble.txt,n)
} 

just make a txt file named babble and you set
as you can see you do have to specify channel if u want you can make a global var and a text command or popup to change it and insert that in there rather than your speicied channel, it makes little difference



A W E S O M E !!!

It worked!! now lets hope it keeps me from gettitng disconnected!!

thank you both for all your help!! It is much appreciated.


Darwin_Koala

Junior Brat, In-no-cent(r)(tm) and original source of DK-itis!
#109430 30/01/05 02:05 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 332
R
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
R
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 332
i suppose that will work fine
i dont know about my code being invasive
your welcome to use whatever you want but
you may want to figure out a way to use
closemsg $me
to minimise the annoying factor
putting something in your performs is no different than having a on connect event
but like i said whatever you prefer


The Kodokan will move you, one way or another.
#109431 31/01/05 05:39 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 206
D
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 206
Quote:
...
i dont know about my code being invasive
your welcome to use whatever you want but
you may want to figure out a way to use
closemsg $me
to minimise the annoying factor


The key difference is that your script sends something to the channel for all the room to see, where as mine only sends something to me. I have all my messages go to the one window (previously I used notice going to the chat window. However, your point about closemsg $me is a good one if you have separate windows!

Cheers,

DK


Darwin_Koala

Junior Brat, In-no-cent(r)(tm) and original source of DK-itis!

Link Copied to Clipboard