mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
a few questions #103002 15/11/04 02:03 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
D
djh Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
D
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
i downloaded and isntalled mIRC 6.16
is there a way to allow only one insstance to run at a time ?
also is there a way to change the icon mirc shows ? i mean when i press alt+tab it gets confusing ( i have multiple versions installed for testing and personal reasons) because i see lots of icons that look the same way.
for now that would be all smile
thanx

Re: a few questions #103003 15/11/04 06:37 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 788
C
Coolkill Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 788
Your question seems confusing, you have multiple mIRCs running (since alt+tab is confusing), you only want to be able to run one instance at a time?

Firstly, you can change the icon that displays in the tray (via, ALT + O - Display - Options - Tray, however you can't change the alt+tab icon.

Secondly, if you want only one instance of mIRC to run, you would need to add some sort of code to each mIRC you run, i.e.

On *:START:{
if ($isfile(C:\mIRCisrunning)) { exit }
else { write C:\mIRCisrunning loaded | set %thismirc 1 }
}

Which would check if a file exists on starting your mIRC and set a variable so each mIRC version can tell if it made the file.

On *:EXIT:{
if (%thismirc) { unset %thismirc | .remove c:\mircisrunning }
}

if its this mirc you only have open, unset var and remove file.

Eamonn.

Re: a few questions #103004 15/11/04 08:13 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
D
djh Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
D
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
i'm sorry if it sounds confusing
let me be more precise :
i have c:\mirc1 and c:\mirc2 each holding 2 different installations
so there are 2 exe's that run in the same time
i only want to be abe to run c:\mirc1\mirc.exe ONCE and not more, and same with c:\mirc2\mirc.exe. your script has been adapted to writing c:\mirc1 and mirc2 files respectively and it works just two times (i don't know why)
IE: if i open c:\mirc1\mirc.exe and then open c:\mirc1\mirc.exe again, the second time it won't load, BUT if i open it the third time, it loads.
hmm what could be done ?

Last edited by djh; 15/11/04 08:13 AM.
Re: a few questions #103005 18/11/04 01:03 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Doqnach Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
Quote:


On *:START:{
if ($isfile($+(",$mircdir,mIRCisrunning")) { exit }
else { write $+(",$mircdir,mIRCisrunning") loaded | set %thismirc $window(-2).hwnd }
}



On *:EXIT:{
if (%thismirc == $window(-2).hwnd) { unset %thismirc | .remove $+(",$mircdir,mIRCisrunning") }
}



the %thismirc is set, saved so exists at the second run, thus triggering the exit event.

this way you check if you are the right mIRC instance

also the $mircdir makes it installtion dir dependend (so you can run mirc1\ and mirc2\ both at the same time, but not more then 1 instance)

(I hope :-P didn't test it ;-] )

only problem is if mIRC crashed and didn't remove the file you need to do it by hand... else it won't boot anymore


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!