mIRC Homepage
Posted By: FlowCtrl Read Random Line - What am I doing wrong? - 23/04/15 04:04 AM
Greeting Everyone,

I'm just starting to learn how to script in mIRC.

I ran across an issue where if I had more than 1 $read(file.txt,n) in a command, it would return the same random value. A simple example below:

on *:text:!select:# {
msg $chan $read(list.txt,n)
msg $chan $read(list.txt,n)
}

What I really want to do is set the variables to 2 seperate random values from list.txt. For example:

on *:text:!select:# {
set %var1 $read(list.txt,n)
set %var2 $read(list.txt,n)
}

Does anyone have a suggestion? I'm reading up on the wiki, but can't seem to come to a conclusive solution yet.

Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!
Posted By: sparta Re: Read Random Line - What am I doing wrong? - 23/04/15 05:39 AM
You looking for $rand, look it up in the help file. /help $rand
Posted By: Wims Re: Read Random Line - What am I doing wrong? - 23/04/15 03:11 PM
$rand isn't going to be really helpful because $read already reads a random line.
You simply need to stock the first value and to find a new random one as long as the second one you get is the same as the first value

var %var1 $read(list.txt,tn)
while ($read(list.txt,tn) == %var1) /
var %var2 $v1
$rand() would be helpful because you can make sure you have two dissimilar numbers before pulling from the file. Yes, $read() can perform its own random selection, but why scratch the harddrive a dozen times before two unique lines are returned?

var %file = list.txt
var %lines = $lines(%file)
if (%lines < 2) { return }
var %r1 = $rand(1,%lines)
var %r2 = $rand(1,%lines)
while (%r2 == %r1) { var %r2 = $rand(1,%lines) }
var %line1 = $read(%file,n,%r1)
var %line2 = $read(%file,n,%r2)
Posted By: Wims Re: Read Random Line - What am I doing wrong? - 23/04/15 05:32 PM
Right, well I didn't even consider this as an issue, I was just saying you wouldn't need $rand to get randomness but indeed, avoiding access to the disk is much better.