mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
T
Tomao Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
T
I was wondering if you guys could shed me some light on utilizing regex to get the sentence like so. I've tried the multi-line switch, the line breaks and all that... but unfortunatnetly they won't work with mIRC for some reason:
Code:
     <title>
This is the sentence I want to capture.
  </title>
the tabs also exist.

Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
Not sure about regex, but I just set a variable when the first line is seen, then only capture the second line when the variable is set and unset when done.

Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
S
Ameglian cow
Ameglian cow
S
Try this pattern:

(*ANYCRLF)<title>\s*\K.+?(?=\s*<\/title>)

I'm no expert in mirc's regex functions, can you retrieve the whole match? Normally that is preferable. If it must be in a substring for retrieval with a mirc identifier, you could use:

(*ANYCRLF)<title>\s*\K(.+?)(?=\s*<\/title>)

and the sentence should be in $regml(1). As written, the pattern should also work when the tags and content are on the same line.

No need here for the multiline option. The only time you need the multiline option is when you want to use ^ to match at the beginnings of lines and/or use $ to match at ends of lines. What constitutes a "line" and what matches dot depends on the linebreak option. Since mirc is using LF by default for its linebreak option, I would suggest to include (*ANYCRLF) at the start of patterns that will work with multi-line subjects. That way carriage returns won't be treated like normal characters.

T
Tomao Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
T
I appreciate you two for the response!