mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
T
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
T
I am unable to use mIRC completely because the options dialog box does not come up on start up. I am unable to reserve a nickname, therefore I am unable to use mIRC. I have been told that the option dialog box does not come up because I do not have enough memory on my machine. That may be true, but then I was told I need 128MB free to run it if other programs are running in the background and 64MB free with no programs running. I have 300MB free! Does this make sense to anyone? I am new to mIRC and I am eager to download toons from my childhood. Thank you.

P
Fjord artisan
Fjord artisan
P
Quote:
the options dialog box does not come up on start up.

To have the options dialog box come up when you open mIRC:
[*] Open mIRC
[*] Press Alt-O to open the options dialog manually
[*] Go to Connect/Options and tick the 'popup connect dialog on startup' box

Quote:
I am unable to reserve a nickname, therefore I am unable to use mIRC

'Reserving' (registering) a nickname is a network feature, and has nothing to do with the mIRC client. Not all networks allow nickname registration. Having a registered nickname makes no difference to the operation of mIRC

Quote:
I have been told that the option dialog box does not come up because I do not have enough memory on my machine

This is rubbish - I have mIRC running quite happily on a machine with 32MB RAM and other processes operating.

Quote:
I am eager to download toons from my childhood.

mIRC is not designed to be a file-sharing system, nor is file-sharing supported by the IRC protocols of the networks to which you can connect using mIRC. For information on what mIRC *can* do in terms of sending and receiving files, open mIRC and type /help sending and receiving files

Hope this helps

PM

IRCnet & DALnet @#travelersinn
:-: IRC for fun and relaxation :-:
M
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
M
Added note: