mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#54392 14/10/03 12:24 PM
R
Mostly harmless
Mostly harmless
R
i hope that one day i would have the money to pay khaled for his work, and for making us all happy with his exellent IRC client. btw, as a network administrator, i dont allow warez as well. I hope khaled will change DCC protocol soon to prevent it(iroffer is working with DCC.)

#54393 14/10/03 02:27 PM
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
On that topic, the best way to safeguard from illegal file trading, etc is on the server level--not client. Yes, you may find earlier at one time I said mirc should, but I have since thought about it. mIRC adding things to its software would be both ineffective as well as bad for "business?".

Lets examine both ideas. Khaled goes ahead an adds the build in ptoection against illegal filesharing, and everyone's happy--right? Wrong, those who do fileshare will stay with lower versions of mirc. They just wont upgrade, finding they can share illegal "warez" just as well with version 5~6.x, then with the new and improved 7.xwith filesharing protections! If they don't prefer staying with an older version, they could just switch clients. You would need all clients to incorperate protections for it to be 100% effective.

How about the other alternative, where Khaled adds the protections, then people are outraged. Everyone announces "mIRC breaks privacy act"where users should have a right to what they do and dont't share. Many become angered, and for no reason (like they almost always are) mirc.com gets DDoS'd and is forced to take either legal action, or shut down.